2001-02-12

Weekend Job Fair, posted at 18:30:47

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I went to a job fair in the Chicago area over the weekend. It was eye-opening for me, because it told me just how much research I have to do before I begin the "real" job hunt. My strategy for the fair wasn't a good one - basically, I just started standing in lines that didn't seem too long. I ended up getting around five interviews and getting some good practice at answering interview questions. I'm very glad I went, as now I know how much work I have before April 5, which is the date of the MSU job fair. The MSU job fair has over 100 school districts from all over the country, and this one had 19 from one area - and it was overwhelming - so I know how much work I've got to do.

I'm not really interested in teaching at any of the districts I interviewed with, I don't think. They were Chicago suburban schools, a bit ritzy for my tastes. I totally feel like it's my market for schools, and I'll be able to choose where I want to go.

These are the things I'm looking for in a school:

*a diverse student body - not all white, not all black - a nice mixture. I think I've used the diversity in my current setting to good effect, and want to continue to do so.

*a English curriculum that is not set in stone, so I can decide what novels I want to teach

*if the curriculum is set in stone, it better be damn good - unafraid to add multicultural texts or books not part of the traditional literary canon.

*a teaching staff that has a good mixture of ages, with enough teachers under 30 so I can make friends.

*a school with an increasing enrollment of students

*a friendly, welcoming staff that hangs out outside of school. I want some built-in friends wherever I end up.

*located in or near an urban area with a lot of culture, nightlife, concerts, and stuff to do

*a head of the department with a progressive, forward-thinking mind

*a school that is not dictated by standardized test scores, but instead is dictated by a well-rounded education of students.

*a school unafraid to use young adult literature in curriculum

*a curriculum that will not squelch kids' joy of reading

It's a lot, I know. But they're all important to me.

The Chicago trip was pretty fun. I went with Erin and Jason. We went to a blues club on Saturday night and ate some Chicago pizza for dinner. We listened to a woman named Big Time Sarah, and she was pretty good - the stereotypical blues mama, wailing away at the woes of the world and no good men.

Life is still good.

*