2001-02-18

Trip home, music, cold, posted at 01:22:57

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I surprised my parents last night and drove home. It was a nice trip, both ways. I got all my laundry done, and neither of the two-hour trips took very long.

The reason? I was listening to music that I was either discovering for the first time or rediscovering some of my favorite music from the past.

I have about five Joni Mitchell CD's, but, in all honesty, I haven't really listened to them much. I sort of liked her, but I've been put off by her voice on occasion. However, after this weekend, I must say she's pretty awesome. Inspired in part by VH-1 selection of the album as the #11 best album of all time and some spirited film clips of her from that era, I grabbed "Blue" for the way home. I was absolutely blown away. Sure, "River" is on the CD, and that's one of the greatest songs ever... but I'd never really gotten into it other than that in the past. But Mitchell has such an odd way with words, a clever tuning method, and an eclectic sound that I hung on every word. "Cary" is an awesome song, highlighted by the line, "(We'll drink a round) for the bright red devil who keeps me in this tourist town," which of course reminded me of South Haven. "California" is an incredible song, with lyrics that were so moving it had me longing for the state even though I've never been west of Chicago.

I picked up a CD by the poet Nikki Giovanni while I was in Chicago, and that was another of my listening pleasures on the ride home. Such power, such force in her words. Highly recommended.

I also had yet another powerful date with Brenda Kahn's "Epiphany in Brooklyn," the album that continues to change my life. I hadn't listened to it in months, but its force came roaring back in my car this weekend. I think I know the whole album by heart.

Oddly enough, a few other oldies besides Joni also found themselves in prominent positions in my CD player. Simon and Garfunkle's song "I Am a Rock" is incredible, as is Gladys Knight's "Midnight Train to Georgia". The former is something that will go perfect as a free-write for Catcher in the Rye, while the latter is simply a brilliant song. I love the line, "I'd rather live in his world than live without him, in mine." It's such a sad line, but envelops something that I'd like to feel someday.

In other news, I'm thinking more and more about possibly the North Carolina area. Isn't Duke out there? Even though I long for a big city, a liberal college town would probably do just fine.

I just hate this weather so much.

A friend of mine just wrote this in her journal the other day: "i am amazed that we can surive and live in michigan when we have days like this. i just can't believe people stay here in michigan when places like southern california exist. it is mind boggling."

Her words are resonating with me as I plan the first years of my professional life. Why would I choose to live in Michigan, or Chicago, or Detroit, when there's beautiful places elsewhere? It's so damn cold here. I hate it.

Otherwise, life is good. Very good. (four day weekend!)