2001-08-03

Events, posted at 4:24 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It was a rather eventful day. My cousin had a baby. His wife did, at least. . 6lbs, 8oz. Jeff sent out an e-mail to friends and family to let everyone know. While I'm not very close with my cousin, he's a neat guy who is definitely someone who represents some goals I have for myself - good job (state cop), beautiful wife, etc. Something I would like to have by the time I'm 30. And I think he's around 28 or 29, so he did it. Now, a baby. Good for him. I called my grandmother to let her know. My parents are down at St. Thomas Islands, and while I was pretty sure someone had let her know, I wanted to make sure and congratulate her on becoming a great grandmother. Up until now, I had apparently underestimated the severity of the disease my Grandmother has. She was so out of it. Someone had told her about the birth, but she couldn't remember who. That's usual. But then she started talking in German (her native tongue) to me. I kept saying, "Grandma, you're talking to me in German. I can't understand you!". At first she giggled and said okay. But then she just kept right on doing it. When I told her she was still doing it, she denied it. Finally, I had to start pretending I understood her. Even though I didn't at all. It was all pretty weird, and more than a little disturbing (because it took me so long to realize what she was speaking - I thought she was speaking in nonsense speak.) Now that I'm writing this, I'm thinking to myself, what if it *was* nonsense speak and grandma was having a stroke? God, I hope not. Poor Grandma. Damn Alzheimer's. To sort of get that out of my mind, I called my sister, who also had not heard. Then, I called my other set of Grandparents, the ones who are old but act young and are in Florida. My latest thought for moving next year is looking at an area near their winter home in Venice, FL. I know Florida isn't exactly the hippest place, but I'm pretty sure Venice is near St. Petersburg, which I think is a pretty big city (isn't it?). It would be nice to be around down there to help out with my grandparents as their ages advance. They're wonderful people who I am very close with; I'm closer with my grandparents than anyone I know my age. They've helped me through a lot of rough times, and I feel like I could help do the same as well as still be around while they're healthy and active right now. I had a job interview for my summer job. It went poorly. One question was particularly bad. I even saw her write "pretty limited in this area" on the sheet. I thought the question was pretty poor, but whatever. We'll see. I'm not that anxious yet - I've got plenty of options.