2001-01-03

New Year's Resolutions, posted at 04:15:48

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

New Year's Resolutions:

1) Continue working out. From August through December, I lost about 40 pounds. My energy level increased tremendously and I just felt a lot healthier. My hour-a-day workouts sagged a lot in December with the shitty weather, travel, and the holidays, and I want to get back into them full-swing starting now. I will be attempting to do morning workouts (5:30am-6:30am) everyday rather than afternoon workouts, so I don't have the opportunity to opt out because I get too busy. My goal is to get down to 190 lbs.

2) Stop eating so much damn cheese. In fact, I want to cut it out of my diet almost entirely. My cholesterol is quite high, as I was tested for the first time about a week ago. It runs in the family and it's the "good" kind (whatever that means; I don't really understand), but I'm also only 23 and I'm viewing the cholesterol count as a signal. Being a vegetarian, I rely on cheese for far too much of my diet - I have to find other options.

3) Eat more fruits and vegetables. The real stuff.

4) Drink more water. At least a gallon a day.

5) Get better organized in terms of keeping material for my career. Buy notebooks for each major book I teach and collect materials for them and organize them well.

6) Put almost all of my refund check into delinquent credit card bills.

7) Pay off my car.

8) Shop around for a DVD player / speaker system rather than buy the first one I see. (Yup, that's where the rest of my refund check is going)

9) Get involved heavily in "Guys in Dolls" at Eastern.

10) Stay connected with my substaff more.

11) Find out why my car belts make such a loud noise.

12) Figure out where the hell I'm going to live next year.

There's a dozen.