2001-01-28

Rundown of the Weekend, posted at 20:36:39

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm really sore. I start lead teaching on Monday, which is ten weeks of basically uninterrupted time teaching four classes. It will be busy and I'm a little bit nerve-racked right now, but it will also be fun. I start with "Huck Finn" with my sophomores and "Catcher in the Rye" with my seniors. I really like the latter and the former is alright. Both are controversial, which will make things even more fun. Last week, I drank too much on Thursday night and sang some karaoke. It was fun. I also fought a little bitty cold, and worked out hard. On Friday, the Common Grounds had a Sponge concert, and I revelled in my lack of responsibility there. Alan embarassed me a bit by calling me out on stage and fishing for applause for me that I certainly didn't deserve, but it was fun to see everyone nonetheless. I felt a weird, but that probably had to do more with being simultaneously moved by JD Salinger, being in a place that has a lot of emotional import to me, and seeing some old friends for the first time in months. Went to Rum Runner's on Saturday. I was still recovering from my Thursday night debauchery, and it was crowded, and I really didn't have much fun. "I yearn for upheaval, an oscillation of the depths" - Sheilla Nichols