2001-03-18

I Love Tina Fey, posted at 05:15:05

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Welp, it's Saturday Night and I'm watching SNL. Tina Fey, with her weird glasses and witty bashing of George W. Bush, is sexy as hell. I love the way she delivers her jokes, with her funny, knowing grin and in a voice that just oozes intelligence. Otherwise, it's a mediocre episode so far. It's been a busy week. It's the last week of the musical - I just got home from the second of three performances this weekend. I can't wait for it to be done. I've enjoyed being involved ith it, but I think it may have been a little too much to take on during lead teaching. I don't think I could ever take on directing a play on my own. It's so much responsibility and pressure. I feel pressure during scene changes, just worrying I'll trip. I can't imagine having it all on you. Plus, there's the whole time factor. And the fact that I really know nothing about theater. "Guys and Dolls" is the first musical I've ever liked. I'm falling behind on grading a bit. Journals were due this week. One kid said that the reason he's behind in his work is 10% his fault and 90% my fault. He complains I give out too much. Lately, I'm feeling like I certainly have too much paperwork to grade. The thing is, I don't set the schedule, my Mentor Teacher does. So I don't really have a choice. If it were up to me, I wouldn't teach a novel while I teach a research paper, but we have to because of the LSD curriculum. I gave a pretty creative test for "Catcher in the Rye," I thought. There was a bit of multiple choice and short answer, and two essay questions. One was pretty standard, based on one of the themes we had studied from the novel. For the other one, I played two songs and had them analyze them as to how they relate to Catcher and its themes and evaluate which one was a more accurate match. I used "The Logical Song" by Supertramp and "Bridge Over Troubled Water" by Simon and Garfunkle. The kids seemed to really enjoy it, and I got some great responses. Yesterday was my last Friday at Eastern. After this, all of our Fridays will be spent at MSU at our classes. I'm looking forward to going back to that schedule - I missed the rap sessions with my classmates, missed the going out on Thursday nights. We're already planning a big karaoke romp on the town on Thursday. As for the job search, I'm still feeling like that feather in "Forrest Gump". Accidental-like, on a breeze. Not sure where I want to go. Still looking at Baltimore/DC area, but possibly more in the Richmond/Raleigh/Chapel Hill area. We'll see. I'm tired, and I think I'll stop writing now. Besides, Tina Fey is waiting for my call.