2001-03-25

Weekend pontifications, posted at 11:39

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

2001-03-25 - 11:39 a.m. So, I had a mock interview the other day with a real administrator, and the woman liked me so much she asked me if I wanted to work in her school district. While I have no desires to return to southwest Michigan to live - visiting is nice, though - it was an affirmation that I really can succeed in an interview format when I'm actually passionate about something. I'm on duty this weekend. Gale came up, and we worked more on Simon's gift - the one we're giving him for being a wonderful host in Boston over the New Year's holiday. It's a little late coming, but it's an amusing gift that we think he'll appreciate. Even with visitors, duty still sucks. I feel trapped and confined. I'm trying to get work done, but it's so hard. I couldn't even go to the gym today because I'm here all day and the Oscars are on tonight. Gale and I watched the Bjork movie "Dancer in the Dark" last night, and I'm watching this little film called "Five Senses" today. Neither lived up to my expectations, but both have been vaguely interesting. Meanwhile, I'm trying to figure out how to cram 150 years of American poetry into six days with my slightly crabby seniors. I'm thinking a day with Langston, a day with Emily, Edgar, and Walt, a day with Gwendolyn, Rita, and some other Harlem Renaissance folks, a day with Maya and Nikki, and perhaps some time with Paul, Sylvia, Allen, Jack, and a few more. Next weekend will be a good one, and I can't wait - the bar on Friday night, Melissa Ferrick on Saturday night, and home on Sunday. The first weekend of my spring break, and I intend to make good use of it.