2001-01-31

Grandma, posted at 03:00:35

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

My Grandma Miazga was put in the Presbyterian Village in Redford on Friday. She moved out of her home of forty years into a dorm-room like apartment with a bunch of other old people.

My Grandma has been suffering from Alzheimer's Disease for some time. It has gotten staggeringly worse in the course of the last year, and then even moreso in the last month. She spent Christmas with us, and the effects were staggering then. The month of January has been even tougher. Upon doctor's orders and a few scary incidents living alone, she had to moved.

My dad is taking it hard. My whole family is, in fact. The house is being sold, the car is being sold, and Grandma's life savings are being spent to take care of her in this pre-nursing home that is incredibly expensive. My dad told me he thanks god that the life savings can be used to pamper his mother in her last years, just like she spent her life pampering her three sons, rather than being an inheritance. I've been really proud of my dad during this ordeal.

There is a good chance my grandmother will not recognize me in six months.

It is times like these where I wonder why I cannot manage any faith, why that leap is too great of one to endure. Why am I so cynical when it comes to a higher being? Why cannot I think there's something more?

Hope and belief are entirely different things.