2001-03-04

Lot's of stuff, with the job search especially, posted at 04:18:40

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

What a week. My little sister graduated from Beauty College on Thursday. Yay, Heidi. I've been so busy, I'm starting to get run down. I worked out hard every day this week, to make up for my slothfulness last week. Actually, I always plan on working out everyday, but tend to miss 1-2 days a week. This week, I happened to be able to talk myself into getting up at 4:45am every single day. The closest day was Wednesday, when I did not wake up until 5:13am, and almost was able to tell myself that I wouldn't have long to work out anyway so I might as well go back to bed. But good Mark fought back, and I ended up getting a good 50 minutes of cardio in that day. Today, I went with Erin to spinning class. It was hell. It's sort of like an aerobics class - something I've never done - except it's done on a bike thing. I generally ride at least half an hour a day on an exercise bike, so I figured I could handle it. Except I didn't realize they'd be jumping up and down the whole time and standing up and pedaling and in general just making me work my ass off. My quads hurt so bad right now. So does my ass. What a workout. I can barely walk up stairs at this point. I'm on duty. It sucks. The weather was beautiful today. Sunny, probably about 50 degrees. I loved it. My job hunt is starting to take a little bit of shape. The latest contender is Charlotte, South Carolina. One of the top urban school districts in the nation, in a beautiful and warm area - 23rd largest school district in the nation. Seems like quite a diverse group of students, too. Other late developments include Virginia Beach, Virgina. The district will be attending the MSU job fair on April 5, which of course makes it an interesting contender. It's also in a beautiful area, right on Lake Michigan. It seems to be a fairly diverse district. I'm worried the area may be too conservative for me, though. Wasn't Virginia the state who insisted on having those idiotic confederate flags hang over the statehouse. Baltimore is still a strong contender. Only 45 minutes from D.C., fairly temperate, active town. Speaking of D.C., I'm definitely interested in possibly teaching there as well. Too bad their website sucks for prospective applicants. Various districts in Florida are also sneaking their way into my mindset. As you can kind of see, I'm sticking with east coast stuff. I'm thinking that's a safe transition. I'm getting bolder and bolder in my job search, but still don't see myself going to California. Chicago is not outruled at this point, but the hatred with the Michigan weathers continues to intensify, and I don't see that getting any better in the windy city.