2002-01-22

The weekend - Friday night's highlights, posted at 7:48 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Friday night was one of my best nights in Baltimore. Right after work, I went with a bunch of colleagues to Happy Hour at Rocky Run in Charles Village, and I seriously had a great time. Here's why:

*It was such a stressful week, with buying a new car, the state testing, the antsy kids, the tons of grading, and a horrible Friday. It felt great to get away...

*I got to know Nate, another single young teacher in the building, pretty well. He's a really nice guy, and I've been wanting to become his friend for a while now - I really am lacking in young single friends here, especially here at work. Plus, it sounds like he'll be teaching here for a while, so he's a good candidate. He's in a different department, so I rarely see him. But it was real nice to hang out with him for an evening. He's a literature fan (favorite book: Their Eyes Were Watching God) and a baseball fan (we'll be coaching the team here together starting in March), and, well, I just think he's cool. He also looks and acts a lot like George Clooney, only 20 years younger. Not sure what kind of bearing that has on whatever point I'm trying to make, but take it for what it's worth. He's cool.

*I got to know Teri pretty well. She's a 34-year old Health teacher. Very cool. If she were five or six years younger... who knows.

*I met the baseball coach. I had actually met him before, but on Friday, we actually talked about me co-coaching. That's exciting. I think Nate's going to do it too.

*I had three beers, and that got me fairly drunk. It felt good.

*I met two girls and a guy from Michigan. All were U of M graduates, and all were first-year teachers in the city schools here. I was flirting pretty heavy with the unattached girl, and she was very cool. I almost asked for her number, but she left, but said, "We're always here on Fridays for Happy Hour, so come on down!". Hmmmm....

*My Bostonian friend Marsha got a ride home with me (we stayed until 11pm, and I stopped drinking after three beers at 7pm, so, don't worry, I was fine), and she was hilarious. She's a good friend.

Anyhow, it was a great time on Friday night. The rest of the weekend wasn't as great, but it was productive.

On Saturday, Josh and I spent almost the whole day rearranging the house. We moved all the workout stuff into what formerly was the dining room, and all the dining room table and the old couch into what formerely was the workout room. We also got the pingpong table downstairs and rearranged the furniture in the living room. The house is very clean now, and looks much better. Jeremy (yes, I'm giving him an alias - check the cast page if you're unsure) continues to have a bad attitude about things, but I've decided that it's not me... he's just taking things out on me. I'm ignoring it, and hopefully if he ever gets a job it'll get better. He was in a good mood by the end of the weekend. He did almost nothing to help on Saturday, though.

On Sunday, it was pretty much another sitting around day. I graded tons of papers, and we watched the disappointing Golden Globe Awards (if Sissy Spacek wins the Oscar, I'm going to scream... Freaking Legally Blonde was nominated over The Royal Tenenbaums for best musical/comedy?). Nate, Teri, and I had made tentative plans to get together to watch the game on Sunday, but when it came around, Nate was nowhere to be found. This was crummy, but I found things to do.

Yesterday, I spent all day - literally - grading papers. I got through a lot, but still am not done. Ugh.