2002-05-17

At least the kids have been good today, posted at 12:31 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

First off, my apologies for my vitriol last night.

The sun is shining and it's Friday, so my mood is much better. Still, a part of my mind is still a bubbling cauldron of tumultitude and I need to get things out.

Issue #1 - Work

Okay, so last night I was ridiculously pissed off. Thinking of it now, I think it sounds a little bit petty. I volunteered to proctor a test for incoming freshmen so I could get extra work done in my room. However, a different teacher was assigned to my room. They wouldn't let us switch. The former pissed me off because of their carelessness in assigning rooms, and the latter pissed me off because it really didn't matter. But I'm over it now. I spent the entire testing period reading, which was nice. Sometimes, a break from the computer is nice.

Still, I didn't leave school until 8:48pm. It was absolutely ridiculous. The level of incompetence of the people running and organizing the event was staggering. Of the hundreds of kids who are entering the 9th grade next year, only about a quarter showed up. Of that quarter, only a quarter of them knew they were to be taking tests. Parents had to sit around for hours, and hadn't eaten or fed their kids dinner because no one seemed to know anything. I felt so bad for these kids, who spent all day at school, then had to come and test until 9pm with no dinner.

When they passed in the test, I told them this: "I want to thank each and every one of you for your hard work today. I know it has been a long day. If the patience and resilience that I've seen demonstrated today is any indication of the qualities of the class of 2006, then we're in for something special next year at ."

Wasn't that nice? I was pretty happy about it.

On the way home, giving Marcia a ride, I was complaining in a long harangue about the night - the lack of organization, the lack of foresight, the crappiness of the event. I was complaining about everything from a lack of vegetarian options at the dinner (when I asked if the proctoring was free, I was told no, only dinner was included. So I asked if there would be vegetarian options. I was assured there would be) to the fact that I had angry parents yelling at me for how everything was set up.

Marcia stopped me and said, "You know, Epiphany, you are officially a teacher now." Because, see, I was complaining. Usually I leave the room when things start to get whiny. Not last night.

The other favorite line spoken to me last night? Here it is: "Epiphany, you look like you're going to cry, you're so tired."

That was Marcia again. She's great.

On the way home, I called Janine and Gale to subject another listening ear to my whining. I called during the last five minutes of Friends, though, so they both didn't want to talk. I then spent most of the drive home thinking about who else I have programmed on my cell-phone who wouldn't be watching Friends. Nope, definitely not Hugasoul. I spent so much time thinking about it, that I was home before I knew it.

Gale called me back later.

I'm trying not to think about last night. The principal issued an apology to everyone about the event's lack of organization and coordination. I smiled and "hello"d the guy who wouldn't let me switch rooms last night; it wasn't his fault things went so crummy last night. I'm trying to let things roll off my back. Don't want to get all jaded and stuff.

***

Issue #2 - Home life

I've mentioned things with my roommate / former best friend have not been well lately. He's trying to save money, never does anything with me, and we never spend any time together because he's always watching TV in the same place for hours on end every single day, and I strive to have a social life.

Anyhow, I got ridiculously pissed off at him last night, and held it all in.

Why? Well, instead of attending my house concert on Saturday night, he's going to an Orioles game.

I've spent weeks begging him to go out with me, and the one night I decide to bring the entertainment in, he goes out.

Fuck him.

He's got all these excuses about it, that it's been planned for a while, that he didn't know the concert was on Saturday (he's quite unobservant), for me know that he's not brushing me off, that he's been broke and that's why he can't do anything.

Screw him.

That's what I've got to say. If he can't every do anything with me - a cheap (under $25) trip to NYC and a Yankees game that's been in the works for 7 years, a free night out at a bar, etc - and then he decides to go to a baseball game on the one night that I really want him to be home so there are more people in the crowd and because he's never *in all the time I've known her and she's stayed with us* ever seen Kristen play and because I really want him there because I've been looking forward to doing something social with him for weeks.

Well, I just think it really sucks. All I said last night was, "Okay Jeremy" and went to bed. I now wish I had had a confrontation with him, but I just didn't want to argue. I'm getting all worked up about it again right now. I should stop.

After all, it's the weekend. And today has been a good day, as I continue to shake the dregs of yesterday off me.