2002-05-18

house concert is tonight, posted at 1:16 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Tonight's the night of Kristen's house concert. I hope it goes well. I've got about ten people confirmed. Hopefully more will show up. While there is a part of me that is really uncomfortable with opening my house up for complete strangers to see a concert, there is also a part of me that finds it exciting.

I hope all goes well. I'm also planning on getting drunk on Rhode Island Lemonade and vodka that Kristen brought for the occasion.

Confirmed to come: Nick, Felicity, Roger, Sally, Dana & kids, Marcia, Brenden, Michelle.

Maybe coming: Mike, Patty, creepy guy who keeps following Kristen to all her concerts and has the same first name as me, others.

Last night, I went straight over to Marcia's for a Happy Hour. A lot of fellow teachers came as well. We spent all evening drinking wine and conversing. It was cool. I loved it how every now and then someone would say, "Okay, this is our last conversation about school tonight" and then start up just a little bit later again on some other topic. Teachers only talk about school when they get together. Probably because it's a job where you get so little interaction with your collegues, especially if you don't have a common lunch period or are in different departments. This is especially true in our school, where we have had two all-staff meetings all year. Our principal - who everyone hates - made it seem like he was doing us a favor, but we all know now that it's his "divide and conquer" scheme.

Ah well.

The weather is cold and crummy today, which is a bit disconcerting since it's nearly June. My mind is so much on the summer already, however, that if the weather was summer-like, then I'd be having a real tough time of it teaching.

I'm over my little fight with Jeremy that I wrote about yesterday. You know, the one he didn't know about because it was a fight that I practiced for in my head but never did. If the time is ever right, I might bring it up. If not, oh well. Se la vie. Life is too short. We got along well last night and today. I was all ready to be pissed off at him, but I just can't do it. I'm not good at holding a grudge or staying mad at people, and believe that confrontations are a bad thing about 90% of the time.

Gotta go. I'm having up to 20 people over tonight, and the house is a mess.