2002-03-14

Ten dollar bet, posted at 8:06 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Two nights ago, Jeremy and I went to eat at Pizza Hut. We had been talking for some time about starting up the "$10 bet" that they do on Ed. In the bet, the two best friends on that show always say, "Ten bucks if you (do something that makes you look like an idiot)". It's one of the best parts of the show.

Anyhow, we were at Pizza Hut, and we were commenting on the waitress. She was a cute girl, but was at that age where it was impossible to tell if she was 15 or 23. We were trying to guess, when Jeremy says, "Ten bucks if you ask her how old she is."

So I did it. It's sort of out of character, but I figured, what the heck, it'll be enough to cover my meal and I'll probably never see her again. I framed it as, "My friend and I are having a little bet, and we were wondering how old you were." (Jeremy said this was a cheesy way to do it, since it spread the embarassment on him as well, and this wasn't the point. But he had set no parameters, so there was nothing for me to stick to.)

She smiled, made us both guess (I guess 18, Jeremy guessed 19), then informed us she was 16. Ha.

Afterwards, I told Jeremy that if he stole three jars of hot peppers, then we'd call it even. I had no idea he'd do it, but he did. We now have enough hot peppers to last us years. We left the place giggling like we were 12. Appropriate, since that was the age we were acting.

I came really close to calling in sick today. A trip to the doctor confirmed that I do indeed have pinkeye, but my insurance won't cover the medicine. So I now have untreated pinkeye. It doesn't hurt or even itch, and can be transmitted only by direct contact. Still, I probably shouldn't be there. I just have too much of a guilt complex to call in sick, especially when I basically feel alright (just a bit run down). My first year evalutation meeting is next week, and all I could think of as I was calling in was that it sure would be nice if I only had the one sick day on my record at that point. I actually called both the school and my department head this morning preparing to tell them I couldn't come in, but got a hold of neither. By the time I could call again, I was eating breakfast and feeling better and decided to just go in.