2002-03-15

In my mailbox this morning..., posted at 8:44 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

From my supervisor, who I really admire and like a lot:

"I have enjoyed working with you this year and recognize how much time and effort you devote to your teaching, but I would be remiss if I did not alert you to the difficulty that you have now created for yourself and for me by not completing your portfolio in a timely manner. True, by contract the portfolio is not due until Monday, but you have effectively cut me out of the opportunity to assist you by not following up on the information that I provided you at our last review. Today as I attempted to review your portfolio so that I could indicate any area that might still need revision before your year end evaluation with the principal next week, I recognized that nothing has been revised since we last spoke. This means that you must be extremely thorough and careful as you copmlete your portfolio over the weekend because when it is collected on Monday it will be reviewed as a finished product. As the portfolio stands today, it would be rated unsatisfactory because it is incomplete in many areas. An unsatisfactory portfolio results in an unsatisfactory rating for the year. After all the hard work you have invested already this year, I would not like to see an unsatisfactory rating due to an incomplete portfolio. Please follow directions carefully as you copmlete this task. I look forward to receiving a complete, well-developed portfolio on Monday morning."

Ack! Maybe my weekend won't be the St. Patrick's Day inspired drunkfest that I had planned.

I'm annoyed at system that looks at the portfolio as something that actually demonstrated teaching achievement, rather than what it actually does demonstrate: clerical skills.

I'm annoyed at myself for waiting so damn long and procrastinating.

I'm annoyed at my supervisor for not getting it back to me with this note sooner, and for implying that the March 18 due date was flexible.

I'm annoyed that my veteran colleagues have likening the portfolio is an annoying gnat that keeps buzzing at your neck - irritating, but easily dealt with. Instead, it's more like the Tyrannosaurus Rex in Jurassic Park.

I'm annoyed at the state, for requiring only city high school teachers to do these f-ing portfolios, because we're the teachers who need to be "checked up" on the most.

I'm annoyed that this Friday - it's a beautiful day, the Spartans are playing at noon, it's payday, I feel great and think my eye is healed, I'm planning on having a great weekend, both Friends and Will & Grace were hilarious last night - is being stained by this administrative BS.

Oh well. Hopefully I'll get it done.