2002-09-20

Sarcasm, posted at 1:33 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Generally, I try not to engage in sarcasm, and follow John Knowles' thoughts that sarcasm is the humor of the weak.

But sometimes it's just so fun. Case in point:

"Oh no, Mr. E. You give us so much work! We got other classes, you know."

"Oh my gosh! You have other classes? I had no idea! This changes all my plans, then! In fact, this changes everything!"

This actually got a chuckle.

It must be Friday afternoon, because I've been feeling quite punchy. Lawrence, a funny and nice laid-back kid whose voice cracks so much that sometimes I cringe with my own puberty memories, kept raising his hand today and giving incorrect responses. It got to be sort of funny, because right when I started explaining why it was wrong, he'd say, "Oh! I know, I know! Dang! I missed that!" or something to that effect. He's a good kid. Anyhow, for the last question, someone else got it wrong, and I looked out into the class to see a bunch of kids raising their hands. As I paused and said "hmmmmm" - deliberately drawing it out to hold their interest - I chose Larwence, and then I said, "Let's let him get at least one right today." I didn't mean to say it; it was more one of those thoughts that just leaks out accidentally. The whole class laughed, including, thankfully, Lawrence. I apologized later, but it was funny.

Thank god it's Friday.