2002-09-20

House concert ramblings, posted at 6:52 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I really want to go see Juliana Hatfield tonight. I've seen her twice - once in Detroit at The Magic Stick (with Nate, Jen, and Heath), and once in Pontiac at the 7th House (with Eleanor and Gale). I've regretted it every time she's been in town and I've missed her. I should really go. I don't really have anyone to go with, though. I hate to drag people somewhere they don't want to go, or to go with someone who is just going to boredly sit by the wall waiting for the show to be over.

I've been much more into music lately. I've been able to book a couple of my favorite musicians for my house concerts, and I just booked the amazingSam Shaber for my next one in October. She's got this song called El Dorado that I think is just incredible. It's starts off with a line that I just love, "My demons are back / and they're so convincing." So easy to relate to.

So I've been getting all these e-mails from musicians wanting a concert, which is cool. I really only want to book people I like, though. I hope Pepper McGowan will come down for a show. Her new album sound clips sound really good.

Others on my wish list: James OBrien, Doria Roberts, and, of course, Brenda Kahn. Ellen Rosner is doing a show in May. I need to get more guys on this list; the thing is, all the male solo singer/songwriters I start to like - like John Mayer, who I listened to way before he ever was big - all seem to get really big. I think that's more a testament of the sexist music industry than anything else.

Oh yeah, I'm still a teacher. The week has gone a lot better since I started going back to the gym in the mornings. In fact, the last two days have felt really, really good. I didn't go this morning, opting instead for a workout here in my living room. Speaking of which, I've got to get back to it.

So... as of last night, my internet personal ad had been viewed 110 times. With no responses. How depressing is that? Actually, I'm okay with it, because I've viewed a few that interested me as well, but don't want to pay the fee to be able to respond. I'm thinking that's what's happening to mine. Either that, or I just really suck. Hugasoul seems to be of the opinion that it has something to do with my not smiling in my picture. I contend that there is a half smile there. I don't really like how I look with a big dumb grin. Never have.

Anyhow, I'm not concerned. I wasn't expecting much from that whole thing, anyway.