2002-05-24

Holden runs away, posted at 12:36 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Not much else new to report today. No new wallowing in my singledom, just a consistent whine in the back of my head. And I guess that's okay. God knows I've gotten used to it.

Right now, I'd settle for a drunk making out session. It's been a long time since I've done that, even.

The excitement of last night? Holden ran away. He broke his tie up rope, chasing after a cat or a drunk guy creating a disturbance in the neighborhood. (More probably: the former. More heroic: the latter) I did a couple of laps around the block, drove a bit, and was pretty much convinced he had gotten hit by a car and was lying dead somewhere. I live in a busy area, and I didn't think he's be able to make it anywhere without getting run over.

But, luckily, he was okay. He came back after only about ten minutes. He may not even have left the block. I had tired him out with a long run earlier in the evening, and that was probably a blessing. I certainly was happy. I had all these visions of me staying up all night searching for him, and going to school without knowing what had happened to him.

But Holden is safe and sound. I had a long conversation with Gale last night, then went to bed. Today is Friday, payday, and the eve of a three-day weekend.