2002-05-28

Memorial Day Weekend, posted at 7:50 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Sorry about the lack of updates recently. I have no home computer, and libraries were closes yesterday and Sunday.

A quick few updates:

* I had a great weekend - very relaxing, with lots accomplished.

* I saw Insomnia and Star Wars.

* Insomnia was the better of the two, with strong acting from the three leads and an intriguing story. Still, it didn't hold a candle to Memento and wasn't much better than your average run-of-the-mill thriller. Overall, a slight disappointment, if only because my Christopher Nolan-influenced projections were probably out of whack.

I thought Star Wars basically sucked. It had the worst acting I've seen in years from any major motion picture - actors who have done strong work in other films, like Hayden Christenston (he was great in Life as a House) and Natalie Portman (she was horrible here, and she's a great actress) and even Sam Jackson, were all poor - perhaps it was George Lucas' clunky direction; I'm not sure. The romance between Amedale and Anakin was slow-moving. I liked Ewan McGregor's storyline and the film ended well. But otherwise it was pretty bad.

* I'm getting a cat today! I've got everything ready for it. Hopefully he'll take care of our mouse problem and give Holden a little company during the days. I'm very excited about heading over there after school today and picking him out.