2002-05-23

Saw Spiderman!, posted at 10:15 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Not much new to report on today. The weather is nicer than it has been, and I'm overdressed. I ended up stripping down to my MSU t-shirt after sweating through my first shirt. I'm glad it's becoming summery.

Michelle and I went to see Spiderman last night. I thought it was terrific. Sure, it had a few flaws, as any populist big summer blockbuster is going to have. But Maguire and Dunst were both very good, the story kept me interested, and the action scenes were excellent. This is a strong film, and I loved it all the way through.

By the way, where can I find a girl like Kirsten Dunst?

Oh, and I can see the "you look just like" Toby Maguire that my kids told me yesterday. Yeah, that's overstated. But some of his characteristics (blue eyes, big nose, slight double chin, perpetual goofy look) definitely fit me. It's nice to no longer say that Drew Carey is the celebrity who most resembles me.

I got home last night after the movie, and got in a little fight with Jeremy. Three empty beer bottles of mine were on the table. I asked who had drank my beer. He said, "Oh, that was yours? I thought it was from the house concert." I said, "First, yes it is mine. I bought it. Secondly, just because you thought it was leftover from the house concert doesn't mean for you to drink it. You and Mike both ditched me on the house concert, and you can't frickin' drink the leftovers. If you didn't ditch me, it'd be different." So he said, "Oh, whatever, Epiphany. The people came over and used our house. We can have the leftovers." And I was pissed: "No you can't. You don't screw me over and then enjoy the leftovers. And it doesn't matter, I bought the beer myself."

So, yup, there are definitely still some residual pissed off feelings about them ditching me for the baseball game on Saturday. But whatever.

They were also watching Celebrity Boxing last night, and rather than start an argument, I just taped the season finale of The West Wing and went to bed early. I ended up calling Gale (who wasn't home) and Janine(who was home, and Gale was there), and talked with both of them a bit. Gale kept asking me why I sounded "down," when I really wasn't down at all. She said, "Whatever, Epiphany, just write about it tomorrow in your diary so we can figure out what's bugging you." But nothing really is, I swear. But talking to them made me homesick, that's for sure.

After hearing, "Okay, Epiphany, we really want to get back to watching The West Wing" from Janine and Gale, I then called Hugasoul, who has been dodging me lately. She was watching the last ever episode of Felicity and didn't want to talk. So I went to bed. And didn't fall asleep right away. So I thought and thought and thought.

Okay, this is for Gale, since her "What's bugging you" question was what was ringing through my ears. Here is what's bugging me:

1. My 7-year friendship with a guy who I thought could be the best man at my wedding seems to be deteriorating more and more every day. Despite little moments where I think things will go back to normal, he does something jerky again. And I never get a break from him at home, since he never leaves.

2. I don't have a girlfriend.

3. Yesterday was my dad's 50th birthday and I didn't get to spend it with him.

4. School is becoming less and less fun every day, and I have a stack of papers to grade that never gets smaller.

5. I have to do laundry.

6. Did I mention that I don't have a girlfriend and think that I deserve one? I mean, I'm a nice guy, I'm now fit and self-confident, I've got a good job, I like to do interesting things. What's the deal?

7. My picture got taken going through a redlight, and I got the $75 in the mail yesterday.

8. I have way too much debt. Credit cards, student loans, car.

9. Nick has backed out twice in the last five days on commitments to me (the house concert on Saturday, last night a trip to Happy Hour).

10. One of my good friends here at work was put on administrative leave yesterday for BS reasons, and she was crying.

By the same token, though, life is pretty good. Here's why:

1. The sun is shining, and it's Thursday, and I'll be heading out to the bar tonight.

2. Kids like Lakeshia, Kris, Dena, Melkia, Preston, Gabrielle, Jonah, and Chantrell who just brighten my day every single day no matter what.

3. The last two pages of Their Eyes Were Watching God. It's so unbelievable. And the kids are so into it as well.

4. Berger cookies at lunch. These things are heaven. I only had one, thankfully.

5. A free I-MAX show tonight.

6. Gossiping with Marcia.

7. Trader Joe's smoked salmon for lunch.

8. Drinking three Pepsi Ones today.

9. Sleeping in until 7:10am and skipping my morning gym trip in favor of an afternoon one.

10. A three-day weekend coming up in which I have no commitments at all except seeing as many movies as I can.

np: Sinead O'Connor, Faith and Courage

nr: The Corner, by Edward Burns