2002-03-01

relief & a great day, posted at 12:12 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Last night, Jeremy and I went out with his ex-fling, Tori. We had planned on going out for Happy Hour on Thursday night all week, but it was kind of a shock when he came home in a huff saying he was going to "get drunk" tonight. "Why?" I asked. "I've got my reasons," he said. Something was up.

We went to this bar/restaurant called Gecko's, and stayed about four hours. Since I drank only diet coke, I spent only $10 all night - including my dinner. Jeremy and Tori, however, proceeded to both get pretty drunk, both ordering three shots and three beers each. She's a fun person; I wonder if they'll end up back together?

There was nothing specific that was pissing Jeremy off, just continued job search frustration and difficulties dealing with the stress that he puts on himself.

I love the guy, and it pains me to see him unsatisfied for so long. I wonder what might have happened if I had been successful in my attempt to talk him out of quitting back in October?

In other news, I'm in a great fucking mood today. I woke up at 4:45am, got to the gym at 5:30, and had a great 2-hour workout. Forty ounces of coffee got me through the morning with a flair. I'm wearing my school's t-shirt because it's Friday, and it's so nice to not wear a tie. And I must say the t-shirt looks great with the lost weight (5 lbs in 12 days since joining the gym, I'm now down to 208 again) and again-growing muscles.

I'm also feeling so relieved that the observation is over with, and that it went well. My dept head had a family emergency today and had to leave, but when she stopped to tell me we had to reschedule our post-observation meeting, she told me that everything was great and not to worry.

Today, I spent some time in front of the class, but didn't want to belabor the mechanics stuff I've been forcing down their throats all week. If I never have to teach predicate nominatives, nominative pronouns, and objective pronouns again, it'll be too soon. Instead, I had them to some partner work in analyzing their writing homework, then had them start planning their Of Mice and Men mock trial. They worked well all morning, while I sat at my desk, listening and correcting papers. It's been a good day.

All my roommates are leaving for the weekend - Jeremy to coach the kid he's coaching to the State Finals, and my PA roommates are going back to PA. I'll be left to my own devices yet again, but I've already made some plans.

I'm really hoping to hang out with Nick this weekend. I'm finding myself obsessing over our friendship way too much. I feel at ease talking with him, but for some reason, when I think of calling him or something, I'm back in high school, wishing that Brent Peters or Brian Dissette would ask me to do something with them. The cool kids, who were smart and got the girls and held parties at the beach. I'm not sure why, exactly. Perhaps I'm just worried about screwing something up. I have a much more difficult time making friends with males than I do with females, so perhaps it has something to do with that neurosis. I think another part of it is that I, in some way, respect and want to emulate him - he seems to really be at ease in every social situation I've seen him in, he just won a first-year teacher award in the state, etc. He's a cool guy. I'm not sure what my point is here, other than I hope we hang out this weekend and it's not another sort of "yeah, let's do something" thing that never getting arranged.

But, fear not, life is good.