2002-03-01

I am __________________, posted at 4:30 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

This is one of my favorite students' "I am ______" brief constructed essay that she turned in today. She's a great kid. She's a spoken word poet who invited me to her poetry reading tonight; we'll see.

I am unconventional. I rarely stick to set rules and regulations. I am likely to dress in casual attire. I am most often seen in jeans or sweatpants and a large tee. At my award ceremony, I wore jeans, a collared shirt, a tie, and some clean Italian shoes. My actions are also unconventional. I am not subservient, especially in the sight of the opposite sex. I am independent. I plan to be a career woman someday, leading the masses to a new freedom. I plan to be a leader in my own right and capture society with my innovative ideas and prudence. I am a horrible cook and very unladylike. It is quite evident that it is unconventional perspectives that symbolize change, and I will continue to strive to look at the world differently than everyone else."

(bold emphasis mine... I like that line)