2002-05-20

Fried Green Tomatoes, posted at 10:10 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Today, the school is giving the state's standardized tests, and the result is each of my classes have been weaned down from around 30 to around 7. We're watching Fried Green Tomatoes, which is my emergency sub plan (now I can't be sick, I guess). I didn't want to do anything to get kids behind, and I wanted to do something enjoyable. Not one of my students so far has seen it. And although I've seen it fifty times or so and just about have it memorized, I still like the movie a lot. I also have a bit of a crush on both of the female leads. Probably a little more on Mary Louise Parker, since she so cool and sexy this year on The West Wing.

Kristin's house concert went well. Thirteen people came, she made over a hundred dollars via both admission and CD sales, and everything was good. The show was nice and loose, and Kristen did her fabulous cover of Katell Keoneg's song "Franklin" (which I always request but don't always get.) A few of the "confirmed" I had didn't show up, but others who I was not expecting did end up coming. So it was a nice mix. Two people who I didn't know and had no connection to came, and all went well. One was this really cool old guy with dreads named Josaga - he was a great conversationalist.

This house concert thing has been a lot of fun. I now have booking agents contacting me, which is exciting. Lori Amey is doing the next show; hers is on July 27th.

Yesterday, we had our first softball practice for our co-ed league. That was fun. Afterwards, we went out to dinner, and I made it home in plenty of time to watch the series finale of The X-Files. I think the first five years of the show will go down as some of the best on television. The show lost me a few years back - a couple of years before Duchovny left, in fact - but I was glad to return to it for its last episode. The episode was pretty good, I though - it seemed to be aimed at folks like me that hadn't been into the show in a while, as there were lots of quick flashbacks and lots of explanation. I enjoyed watching it. I taped the season finale of The Practice, and hope to watch that tonight (although the season finale of Boston Public and the series finale of Ally McBeal take precedent).

It's nice to have things a bit more back to normal - I've been running myself haggard lately. It's nice to sit at home at night and watch some television, after a long period where it seemed I was doing something every single night.

Quote of the day: "Mr. Epiphany, what's up with your hair?"