Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2003

Furlough, posted at 9:51 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

The school boarded to furlough teachers two days of pay to help reduce the budget deficit that it got itself into. I hope the union fights it, although the board says that if the furloughs do not occur, then hundreds more layoffs will have to happen. So I guess I can revel in the fact that my furlough will prevent people from losing their jobs. Still, I do not find the situation satisfactory, as I believe the people who are in charge should resign because a $30 million error just should not occur. Period. Someone down there should take the fall; then I will be satisfied with having to give up some days' pay.

I still will think it sucks, though. Ugh. Like I'm not having enough money problems.

A few random notes:

My cell phone has been lost for two days. Ugh.

No one has agreed to go to Recher to see Melissa Ferrick yet.

I told Nick that I was detached, emotionally. I think the better word is guarded. I might try to find him today to tell him. Because he said he was surprised I would describe myself as such, and he was right.

I went over to dinner last night at Andi's. Homemade burritos. Terrific.

Gotta go, kids coming.