Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2003

Dumb day, posted at 2:36 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I've made so many dumb little errors today, to the point where I'm making myself crack up. Here are a few:

I'm giving an extra credit assignment in which students have to write a short 5-paragraph essay comparing Their Eyes Were Watching God and the film How Stella Got Her Groove Back. I'm writing the assignment on the board, when I realize that I want to write a directive for students to compare the experiences of the lead characters. Only, I can't think of the lead character in the film. I stop writing the assignment in midstream on the board, and retreat to the Internet Movie Database to fetch the answer. The computer is slow, and this one girl asks, "So what's the rest of the assignment?" I say, "Oh, I can't remember the main character in How Stella Got Her Groove Back's name." One girl chimes in, "Oh, that's Angela Bassett." I say, "No, that's the actress. I want to know the character's name." The girl looks at me and sort of cocks her head. "Uh, Mr. Epiphany, her name is Stella." I started cracking up. It was one of the dumbest things I'd done in a while.

I have also done the following:

* Tripped over a backpack. Badly.

* Wrote "Those who gossip are often lonely and uniformed" on the board as one of the possible themes of Their Eyes Were Watching God. It was on the board all day until a student here in 7th period said, "I don't remember any uniforms in the book."

* Ripped the bottom of my pantleg, tried to fix it with a safety pin, which came out and poked me in the leg.

I think that's about it. Dumb day, but funny.