2002-06-27

Renee Estevez?, posted at 8:41 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Okay, so I've been a West Wing for a couple of years now, and have always noticed the name "Renee Estevez" on the opening credits. I know this actress, because she's Emilio's sister (and Charlie Sheen's sister and, I assume, Martin Sheen's daughter), and because she played "Betty Finn" in one of my favorite movies of all time: Heathers.

But, for the life of me, I can't figure out who she is on the show. IMDB.com isn't any help (it just lists the actress, not the character's name). The only person I can think of is Margaret - John Spencer's secretary - but she seems too tall, and too old, to be the right person. I know it's been thirteen years or so since the movie has been made (right? I don't have time to double check...), but I think it would just make me feel too old for it to be Margaret. Margaret seems as old as my mother, or older. Does anyone know who Renee Estevez actually plays?

In other news, I watched the Scrubs-athon on NBC the other night. What a funny, funny show. I didn't watch it all year because it was against the excellent 24, but I think it's moving to Thursday nights next year. Is this the case? If so, good. It's been years since there was a halfway decent show on after Friends. I actually liked that Julia Louis-Dreyfus show last year as well - or, at least, it had some potential - so I wouldn't mind that show there, either. Did it even get renewed, though? I feel out of touch with TV a bit, since I spent much of spring not watching any of it and missed the announcements of the fall schedules. I know that 24 and Alias got renewed, I know that FOX missed a good opportunity to showcase a great new comedy by not putting the hilarious Andy Richter Controls the Universe in the post-Simpsons slot (instead putting the no-longer-funny King of the Hill there and moving Malcolm in the Middle to 9pm), but that's about it.

I'm showing What's Eating Gilbert Grape today in summer school. I couldn't find Sling Blade anywhere last night (went to four video rental places), so they're getting that one instead. It doesn't really stick with the Southern Gothic theme as much, but at least there's the common subjects (with "A Rose For Emily") of gossipy small towns and of people who hole themselves into their homes. I'm reaching a little bit, but oh well.

Today, I plan on mowing the lawn when I get home, and maybe working on my tan a little afterwards. I'm almost through A Patchwork Planet and want to get started on another book soon. The house is basically pretty clean now, and I can start some of my summer projects - like alphabetizing my CDs and lugging my books upstairs into my new library/office/workout room that I'm creating before I get new roommates who would want to stop something like that.