2002-09-23

The Emmies, posted at 10:38 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

For the most part, I thought the Emmy decisions sucked last night. The best show on television - Six Feet Under - was shafted, while The West Wing - which had a decent season, but a big comedown from its first two - and Everybody Loves Raymondwon far too many.

Best Comedy: Friends. I actually agree with this one, and can't believe it's the first one they've gotten in this category.

Best Drama: Hello? The West Wing is a great show, but it should not have won for last season - its weakest by far. Six Feet Under is a great show, and deserved to win. I could tell this only by the six (incredible) episodes I've seen.

Best Actor in a comedy: Ray Romano winning is ridiculous. He's a standup comic, not an actor. His is a funny show, but, again, he is playing himself. That's all. His line readings are stiff, like he's reading his standup comedy. I can't believe that Matt Leblanc didn't win. Anyone who voted for Romano over Leblanc in this category does not deserve to vote for the Emmies.

Lead Actor in a Drama: I'm okay with this. This was a way strong category, and I've never seen The Shield. The reviews have been good, though. I liked Chikles' speech more than any other of the night. I figure the Six Feet Under boys probably cancelled themselves out. I would have been happy with Michael Sheen winning, and ecstatic if the most deserving one - Kiefer Sutherland - had won. But this isn't one to bitch about too much.

Lead Actress in a Comedy: Aniston, unbelievably, won for the first time. Completely deserved.

Lead Actress in a Drama: Another very strong category. I watched all the nominees and thought to myself I would be happy if any of them won except for the Judging Amy chick. The luminous Allison Janney won again, even though her ditzy speech made me like her less. I would have liked to see the mother from Six Feet Under win the most, but oh well. Jennifer Garner would have been cool, too. I loved her Golden Globe speech. "I want to thank the producers for having faith in me to give me the role. I mean, I know I was really good in Dude, Where's My Car?, but still..." Heh.

Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy: Brad Garrett won for Raymond. Could be worse, I guess. Is this his first win? I guess it's deserved, if that's so. He's good. But the father from Malcolm in the Middle deserved it the most. That guy's fantastic.

Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy: Doria Roberts won. Again. She's great and all, but she doesn't really need two Emmies. This category was almost completely dominated by Sex and the City women, though, so I'm sure they cancelled each other out. I actually think the acting in that show can be weak at time, especially Kim Catrall's. It's well-written, though, so it's quality. This was a weak category that definitely should have included the boss on Andy Richter Controls the Universe and Sarah Chalke from Scrubs.

Best Supporting Actor, Drama: This category was almost completely dominated by West Wing folks, and John Spencer won. He's done years of quality TV work, and if this is his first Emmy, then I'm okay with it. But if not, then I wish someone else would have won. Victor Garber would have been a great choice for Alias - his portrayal of Syndney's father is restrained, cold, and utterly convincing. By the way, where was the doctor guy from Ed? (Don't say "smoking crack"...:) What I mean was, he deserved to be nominated.)

Best Supporting Actress, Drama: Stockard Channing won. Eh. She's a great actress, and the star of one of my favorite films (Six Degrees of Separation) of all time. But her role always seemed small to me on The West Wing, and the show had a weak season. I would have preferred Janel Maloney win. I also loved Mary Louise Parker's character. Lauren Ambrose deserved it the most - her portrayal on Six Feet Under is pretty much the most realistic high school portrayal since My So-Called Life. But this was sort of a weak category. Why does Tyne Daly get nominated for her crappy show every year? Wow, am I ever glad I got that off my chest rather than spend 15 minutes grading papers. Day has gone well so far. Stayed up too late last night watching Emmies, and didn't get to gym this morning, but my soccer league starts tonight so all will be well. I've never played soccer in my life, by the way.