2002-10-23

Doldrums, posted at 10:36 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Today is a big day in Mr. Epiphany's class: we're starting To Kill a Mockingbird. It's the first novel we'll be reading together as a class, and I've had today written on the chalkboard for at least a couple of weeks.

However, it ended up that we had to finish off "Everyday Use" (a short story that I feel like my students never totally "get"... it makes a neat little statement about many aspects of their culture which I feel is missed, and I'm never sure how to lead them there without sounding as patronizing as Dee {Wangero} is in the story) and do some parts of speech stuff, so the time I left for To Kill a Mockingbird wasn't much. I ended up rushing through my introduction and wishing I would have just put it off until the next day.

Otherwise, not a whole lot has been going on. I forgot my computer at home yesterday, which means I had more time to do non-computer stuff. It was a nice break. I made up a poster of photos from the Outward Bound trip and laminated it, hanging it outside my room. The poster led to the first ever nice note put in my mailbox ever from my principal. The note read: "(Epiphany) - Nice poster. Good idea. - (Jim)". Only six words, but they had me walking on air, especially since I got chewed out last week. He's not much one for compliments.

I've been having an awful time getting up to go to the gym lately. I've worked out now for five days straight, but not one of them has been in the morning. It's crummy to get home and not be able to relax because the gym trip was not taken care of. I even think I've been getting enough sleep. Weird things have been occurring with my alarm clock; that's one problem. I'm not sure what the other problem is.

I have a soccer game tonight, and I'll try to squeeze in a workout before that. Soccer has been fun so far, but not nearly as fun as softball. Probably because I really suck at soccer and am pretty decent at softball. Last week, the ball was in front of the net and I had a wide-open shot and missed it by about ten feet, prompting someone to ask if I was left-footed.

In other news, I've just been sort of homesick lately. No long distance sort of sucks, especially since I tend to call people more than the other way around. My sister's birthday is on Halloween, and I haven't talked with her in ages.

I feel sort of in doldrums lately, I guess.