2002-10-24

My afternoon, posted at 12:00 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

3:06 - Older woman knocks on my door, says, "Hi, I'm Tevan's aunt. I didn't want to interrupt your class, but I wanted to talk to you." (Okay. If you don't want to interrupt, then why do you come and knock on my door during school?)

3:09 - I decide on the fly to give my very rowdy and indolent 7th period class homework because they spent all period pissing me off with their constant talking. They made me feel like a first year teacher. I even gave them this speech: "The rest of my classes were able to discuss some topics about the story at the end of class, but since you all wasted so much time with your constant talking all period, then you will be doing it for homework." (Groans) "See, that's exactly what I'm talking about." (More groans) "And another thing. I'm finding this class very..." (struggling for a word. I didn't pick the right one.) "...frustrating. I realize it's 7th period, but the behavior that this class is displaying has to end. I guess you all are making me become the bad guy, since you cannot handle being mature on your own. Tomorrow, you will come in with a brand new seating chart, and hopefully a different attitude." Yes, I was frustrated. The class pissed me off today. So much talking. Ugh. I'm a very patient guy, and have become much better at waiting for everyone to be silent before speaking to the entire class. The thing is, it's taking far too long with this class, and it's getting worse and worse. I need to shake things up. But it was a mistake showing frustration nonetheless. Other things were pissing me off that period (excessive asking for bathroom passes at ridiculously stupid times, until I just refused.)

3:15 - School ends.

3:16-3:35 - My coach class is in session, but I'm meeting with Aunt Virginia. She's a very nice woman. She saw Tavon's grade printout folded up in his pants pocket while doing his laundry, and she's concerned. We talked for a long time. It was good, but tiring. I have eight students waiting for me to help them with various things.

3:35 - I set up Joshua, who is in for extra help on parts of speech, with a practice handout on it. He's there until 4:50 practicing it. It's just him and me for the last 40 minutes of it.

4:30 - A student from last year comes into my room, says hi, then says, "Mr. Epiphany, you are just looking younger and younger every day!". I'm not sure if this is a compliment from a 17-year old or not. Later he explained it was the weight loss. Still, a bit goofy.

4:50 - I leave. Phew.

5:03 - I return home, grab a quick bowl of cereal for dinner.

5:30 - I leave for my soccer game.

6:15 - Soccer game begins. We lose, 7-0. Our team sucks. We have too many subs and I barely get a workout at all because we have to sub in and out so much.

7:15 - It's my turn to referee the next game, so I stay after instead of heading to the bar with the others. Reffing when you know nothing about the sport is very, very boring.

8:30 - I leave the sports arena, and head to White Marsh to buy more copies of To Kill a Mockingbird for my students.

9:00 - I get really pissed off because Barnes & Noble only has the $11.95 version of the novel instead of the $6.99 version. Greedy bastards. I refuse to buy them.

9:10 - Old Navy is right next door, and I always like to check there in case there's anything great in their markdown section. I buy three polo shirts for $1.99 each. I have so few clothes that actually fit me anymore that I think this is a terrific deal. I also get a sweater, figuring that tomorrow is payday and I could afford the $9.99 sweater. By the way, it looks great on me.

9:15 - I absolutely need those books for tomorrow, so I decide to check next door at Target to see if they have To Kill a Mockingbird. They don't, but it does have Pepsi One 12-packs on sale for $2.33. I buy two.

9:25 - Frustrated, I head out to the Towson Barnes & Noble, which I know has the mass market $6.99 version of To Kill a Mockingbird.

9:40 - I make it there, 20 minutes before it closes. I pick up seven more copies of the book.

9:50 - Since Bally's is right next door, I decide to get a workout in. I'm wired, so I figure I should work out some of the stress of the day.

10:50 - I leave Bally's a great workout behind me.

10:55 - I leave taking the up escalator down. No one catches me.

11:00 - I head out to the parking lot, and think to myself that lot, which sits in a valley, would be a perfect target for the sniper. (I had watched news updates throughout the last hour at the gym.) I briefly wonder whether they would cancel school if I was shot in my parking lot, and how my students would react, especially my 7th period. I walk a little quicker to my car.

11:15 - I get caught in bad traffic on the highway, but am listening to the World Series, so it doesn't bug me.

11:30 - I make it home, and I'm exhausted by now.

12:17 - Writing. Why am I not sleeping?