2002-10-20

My Big Fat Sucky Wedding, posted at 7:24 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Entry #2 of the day. I ended up grading a few papers this afternoon, but not twenty, and went out to White Marsh for a workout and a movie. I did my weights workout before the movie, then walked over to the theater, and came back and did my cardio. It was a very solitary day, but a nice one nonetheless.

I ended up seeing My Big Fat Greek Wedding, finally. I thought it was okay. Perhaps the film was a victim of my oversized expectations and the fact that almost everyone I talk with loves it, but I thought it was middling at best. I liked a few parts - the scenes between brother and sister (I'm missing Heidi something fierce right now, like everyone else in Michigan now that I don't have long distance) and a few of the one-liners (a great bit of physical humor when the lead character fell backwards because the phone was attached to her head), but overall I thought most of the jokes were about at the level of an average sitcom. I could see most of them coming from a mile away.

I also thought a lot of the humor was xenophobic. I guess part of it's because I also come from a large, ethnic family on my father's side. My dad is first generation American; my grandparents were post-WWII immigrants from Poland (grandpa) and Germany (grandpa). A lot of the scenes reminded me of things in my family, and I thought they perpetuated stereotypes. But they weren't even Greek stereotypes. The family gorged themselves at mealtimes and were overprotective of siblings - these are true of dozens of ethnic groups. And I couldn't stand that the family was so mean to each other, particularly the father to the daughter. I didn't find it charming. Sorry. Does the fact that the father bought them a house at the end excuse his cretinous behavior all film?

I also didn't believe the scenes between the main character and John Corbett. I just don't think there was enough evidence that the two had much chemistry at all, and I could see little reason for him putting up with as much as he does for her. Especially since she couldn't act at all - always with the same stunned expression on her face, an expression that says, "Ummmm... I'm stunned. I can't believe I'm hearing this and all I can think to do is give this same look that I give all the time."

I also could have done without the Windex scenes. Yeah, that wasn't funny the first time. It's not going to be funny eight or nine times later, either.

Sorry. I didn't mean to harp on it that long. I liked parts of it, and laughed twice or maybe even three times. But overall I thought the film was pretty amateurish, with some awful acting. People I respect really liked it, but oh well. To each his own. I'd give it a C, nothing better. I still haven't seen a good movie since Signs, which is still simmering in my thoughts. Maybe I'll go see it again now that it's at the cheap theater.

Despite my complaints, I'm really glad I went. I went alone (Repeat my mantra: Going to the movies alone is a sign of inner strength, not a sign that you need more friends. Going to the movies alone is a sign of inner strength, not a sign that you need more friends. Going to the...), and made it there at the perfect moment. It sucks to go to the movies alone and to get there really early, but I sat down, and thirty seconds later the lights dimmed. I saw some really annoying commercials (I hate commercials at the movies), but then the previews started and there were some great ones. I got goosebumps during Antwone Fisher, which I've heard is great and could be a Best Picture nominee (Denzel stars and directs). I think it will be fantastic. Then, the preview of Adaptation came on, and I think that's going to be excellent. It's from the same creators as the folks who made Being John Malkovich, one of my favorite movies. Spike Jonze (director) and Charlie Kaufman (writer), yeah, that's their names. It also has Meryl Streep doing comedy, which I love. You already know how much I love the movie Defending Your Life, which is a comedy she stars in. I loved Death Becomes Her as well. But if you want to know how much I like her in comedy, this will convince you: I even liked She-Devil. Yes. Okay, so I haven't seen it in years, but I remember liking it. Anyhow, if Meryl Streep does comedy, I'm there. Especially if it's with Spike Jonze directing. The preview was excellent.

And I hate to say it, but I laughed out loud a couple of times at the preview for Rob Schneider's new movie. I can't remember the name of it, but he turns into a teenage girl. It looks silly and offensive and funny as hell.

My new credo: see at least one movie every weekend. I can do it. Next up: either Igby Goes Down or The Tape. I also really, really want to see PT Anderson's new film Punch Drunk Love with Adam Sandler, but I don't think it comes out until next week.