2002-04-22

Weekend in DC, posted at 3:25 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I was away from my computer from noon on Friday until 7am this morning, which is one of the most significant breaks I've taken in a long time. It's nice, I guess.

A quick rundown of the goings-on in EpiphanyLand:

1. On Friday, I got four different teachers to cover my 7th period, all for about 20 minutes each. I left school at 1:30pm to attend our doubleheader baseball game across town. It was a gorgeous field, in an area called Druid Hill Park that is designed by the same guy who designed NYC's Central Park. It was definitely the most beautiful place I'd ever experienced baseball on an amateur setting. I was loving it - the fresh-cut grass, the fact that our pitcher (an incredibly skinny sophomore pitching in his only second game ever) had a no-hitter through three, the fact that the weather was just right (not too hot, not too cold) - until it started to storm. It overtook us suddenly, cancelling the games with its twenty minutes of downpoar before letting up to the sun. The field was too wet to continue, so we were done for the day. This was a disappointment, as I had gone through all that work to get coverage for my class, and it was all for naught.

2. On Friday night, I went to DC with Jeremy to visit with Eleanor and June. It was a good night. I was exhausted as a result of my extremely long week last week, but hanging out with good friends in the Georgetown area was a bit of a energy boost. Jeremy and I got along fine, as well - I think much of our problems lately have been only spending time together in the house, and not out on the town. We miss out on the fun stuff and replace it with just mundane roommate stuff.

3. We drove back on Friday night, and Jeremy and I bought a used lawnmower for $45 on Saturday morning from a cute old man. Our front yard had begun to look like a meadow - complete with grass resembling wheat, dandelions the size of small trees, and wild onions - so it was nice to cut it down and end our tenure as the scorn of the neighborhood. Jeremy didn't join me for my return trip to DC on Saturday night, citing not having any money. This was a bummer, but I didn't press him on it.

5. The night on Saturday was good. We ate dinner at this place called MiMi's, which featured live Broadway songs sung by its waitstaff. Eventually, it got tiresome hanging out with June and her boyfriend, as they are the type of couple who engage in constant whispering and conversations among themselves while in a large group. Theirs is a relationship that totally robs June of the personality that I had encountered in the previous years, which is a bummer. But I don't want to harp on this - god knows, I already did this enough over the weekend.

5. After dinner - which was a lot of fun - we hung out at this Irish pub in northern Arlington. Mike joined us, which was cool. Nick called while we were in DC to see if we wanted to hang out, but he called too late into our plans; we were in route to our next destination. This was too bad, as June and her bf got tired and wanted to go in at 11:30pm, and I'm sure Eleanor and I would have been up for some more fun. Talking to Nick this morning about the place he went to - a brewpub in Dupont Circle - left me jealous. He said it was the coolest bar he'd ever been in, with the longest beer list he'd ever seen. He got beers from Zimbabwe, Russia, and a couple of other exotic places.

That's not to say that the Irish bar wasn't fun. It was a neat place, complete with a cool acoustic guitarist whose idea of singing Irish music was singing American rock songs like "Take Me Home Country Roads" with an Irish accent. It just felt a bit early to go in. I miss Eleanor and wanted to spend more time with her.

6. Eleanor and I spent the night at June's (while June went to spend the night at her bf's... weird, I know), and ended up eating at The Cheesecake Factory (where I had a piece of banana cream cheesecake that it'll take me a week to work off) on Sunday morning. I dropped Eleanor off at the airport, and made it back to B-more at around 5pm.

7. This morning, I woke up at my usual 4:30am. My workout was subpar, as was my day. My kids have Powerpoint presentation due, and only about half of the ones who had to do it came prepared. While I'm glad to chop grades down for tardiness, I know that this will only require more work later ("Can I come in during lunch to make it up, Mr. E?", "Can I come in after school?" Ugh). I'm almost sure I'm going to take a sick day this week, because I've only taken one this year (as a result of a school injury, so I don't even think it counts), and I'm feeling really rundown. The house is an absolute pit, and my grandparents are visiting this weekend. Gotta get stuff cleaned.

8. And I gotta go.