2002-04-25

Back from a day off, posted at 9:52 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

So I took yesterday off, and I'm back today. I have about 300 e-mail messages waiting for me, so if I haven't replied, I hope to get to them today.

Yesterday was wonderful and much-needed. I almost don't feel guilty about the "I'm sick and have a fever over 100" lie I told. It was the first time I'd taken a sick day all year (except for the day when I called in sick with a severely sprained ankle that I did at school - the school isn't counting that one, so I'm not either), and it was so needed. I just feel so worn down. Not overwhelmed, just worn down. I've been getting up at 4:40am, leaving the house at 5:30am, and not getting back until 8pm most nights. It's a breakneck pace, even though it's fairly enjoyable. I needed the day off sooo bad. I think the kids could have used a day off from me, as well.

My sub was this really old woman who taught for years. She didn't leave me a sub report. Grrrr....

Today is "Take your kid to work day" as well as the College Visitation Day (this is only for Juniors, but I think some of my freshmen are illegally attending). I had nine students in first period and eight right now in second period. I'm giving a big test tomorrow whether they like it or not, though.

I have some diaries to catch up, and e-mails I need to write, so I've got to go. I'll leave you with my current life soundtrack of the last few days:

1. "One Mic" by Nas: This is such a great song - so freaking powerful. One of my kids turned me onto it when I was giving him a ride home. I've only heard the radio-edit version, and I'm really curious about the part about Jesus.

2. "Shy" by Ani DiFranco: This has never been one of my favorite Ani songs, but it's jumped its way there in the last few days for some reason. Really, that whole album has been having a hard time escaping my CD player - I love her guitar playing so much.

3. "Without a Trace" by Soul Asylum: I love the line, "Standing in the sun with a popsicle/ Everything is possible". I really think Grave Dancer's Union is one of the most underrated albums of the nineties. I'm loving it lately.

4. Just about anything with Ja Rule: My kids have been including him a lot on their To Kill a Mockingbird soundtracks, and I'm really digging him. His raspy growl of a voice is very powerful. I love his song with Mary J. Blige. I may actually have to buy his CD. I'm such a prude, though, when it comes to rap lyrics. I don't know if I'll be able to handle the non-radio-edit versions of songs.

5. "Gimme" by Jill Scott: This woman is so sexy. I saw the video twice within the span of twenty minutes yesterday, and it's a perfect summer pop song.

6. "Making Pies" by Patty Griffin: I'm slowly getting into her new album, and this is the song that started doing it for me. I see her on Monday night.

7. "This Train Don't Stop" by Elton John: The video hooked me onto the song, which I think is the best Elton John song in twenty years. I even bought the album.

8. "You Owe Me Nothing in Return" by Alanis Morissette: I think this is my favorite song from the new CD. I say I think because I don't actually have the case in my car when I listen to it, so I'm not sure if I got the title right. It's the one with a bit of flute at the beginning. The production on this album is wonderful, although I still think it's the least of her three albums.

9. "Answering Bell" by Ryan Adams: "New York, New York" made me buy the album, this is the song that makes me keep listening to the album. It's terrific.

Those are the songs that I'm listening to right now. Woo-hoo!

I'm reserving spot #10 for something from the new Wilco album, which I think will be fantastic. I see them Sunday night here in Baltimore. I'm a concert-going fool lately.