Monday, Jan. 20, 2003

antwone fisher, posted at 5:15 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I just got back from one of my solitary Sundays, only it was Monday. I went out to White Marsh for a workout, decided to see a movie, did a little shopping, went back to the gym for a cardio workout, and now am back at home.

I saw Antwone Fisher, and liked it a lot. It's one of those sensitive movies about a young man with a bruised soul who finds a way to heal. These are the rare type - like Good Will Hunting - that men are allowed to cry while viewing. I did, a little. In fact, my eyes were pretty heavy during a lot of it. There were some incredible scenes. It wasn't a perfect movie, and part of the time my intellectual side was warring with my emotional side, thinking things like, "Wow, that sure is hokey dialogue" or "Could this be any more predictable?," while my emotional side was loving every minute of it. Actually, there were predictable parts, but also scenes that were not what I was expecting at all - the scene between Antwone and his real mother was incredible and not at all what I had expected. A lot can be said for the acting in this scene alone; the woman who played his mother, Viola Davis, is able to do so much with hardly any words - it's the twitching of the muscles in her neck or the flicker of the eyes that says it all. If you can win an Oscar for 8 minutes of work, she deserves it. The kid who played Antwone, Derek Luke, is also very strong throughout, and Denzel is, too (of course). Overall, this is a heartfelt, passionate film - highly recommended though not one of the best five of the year.

Please make me grade papers.