Sunday, Jan. 19, 2003

I think I'm done playing the lyrics game for now, posted at 8:35 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Inspired by Rae Anne's entry, here are names I like...

For boys: Xavier, Evan, Zak, Cameron, Ethan, Shane.

For girls: Zora, Madeleine, Madison, Mallory, Vannessa.

***

After the big hubbub last year of two African-American stars winning Oscars, this year's Entertainment Weekly doesn't have any nominees of color projected this year. The Golden Globes are pretty whitewashed, as well - with the exceptions of Queen Latifah and Salma Hayek. I guess it shouldn't be surprising, but what surprises me is that more coverage has not been offered about it. I'm hopeful that the Oscars will strive to be a bit more inclusive, and think that Derek Luke probably deserves a Best Actor nomination.

***

I'm watching the Golden Globes right now. I don't like this award show nearly as much as any of the "Big 3" - the Emmies, Grammies, or Oscars. I think in general that they are too predictable and trendy. Any awards show that nominates Cameron Diaz for her work in Gangs of New York or My Big Fat Greek Wedding for anything doesn't deserve to be taken very seriously. That being said, I like that it sometimes helps predict Oscars. I am just fine with the victories by Meryl Streep and Chris Cooper for their work on Adaptation. Streep was so crazysexycool in her role, and Cooper did wonders with his - turning a stringy-haired, unkempt, toothless slob of a man into someone that Streep could like.

I feel gypped every time they don't show a clip of nominated actors or films. I'd rather have that than other stuff that takes up time.

I'm looking forward to the Oscars. I'm going to organize an Oscar Pool at school.

Hopefully tomorrow I'll be able to head out and see a movie or two. Getting that urge.

***

I cannot wait for spring training, or for baseball season in general. We start practice on March 1 at school, and I'm getting geeked - despite the fact that budget problems will prevent me from getting paid or from us having a JV team. Oh well.

***

Well, Golden Globes are over now. I'm disappointed that Jack Nicholson won, but otherwise I'm okay with everything. I haven't seen Chicago yet, so I can't comment on all the awards it won - maybe they were deserved.