2002-08-26

Anticipating tomorrow, posted at 4:15 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I went in to start setting up my classroom today. Tomorrow all teachers report, and I'm sure the next three days will be a furious flurry of activity. I wanted to get a little headstart.

I will admit that I'm a bit nervous. Our department has a new department head, and she seems wonderfully nice and intelligent. However, I am worried that a lot of the independence I felt last year with our interim department head will be lost this year. I can't stand regimented curriculums, and it looks like this may be the case this year. I have put off on printing out my syllabus or mapping out my semester because I'm worried they're going to tell me I can't do it the way I want to.

However, I am striving to maintain my current positive attitude and not fall victim to the Cynicism Monster in my just my second year of teaching. I'm hoping to elude him for at least a few more years.

And I'd be lying if I said I wasn't excited about tomorrow, about seeing all my colleagues who I didn't see all summer, and about seeing what this new department head has in store for us.

*****

Do you have to cut cat's toenails? Tobey seems to get caught on everything - carpet, my shirt, blankets. He always gets himself loose, but I'm worried he's going to break a bone. I can't believe how much I've missed the little guy. And vice versa, I'd say, as he's not left my side since I got home. Purr, purr, rub, rub.