2002-08-26

today's stats, posted at 12:40 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Time left South Haven: 11:25 am

Time arrived in Baltimore: 11:59 pm

Stops: Probably eight

Number of times I did 30 pushups at a stop: four

Number of times I laughed out loud while hearing a song: 1*

Number of times I started dancing and singing along to "Bust a Move": 1

Number of times Holden awoke from his slumber to shoot me a horrified "you look so incredibly stupid" glance while I was dancing around to "Bust a Move": 1

Number of times contemplating life and, specifically, relationships: 3

Number of times listening to the new Bruce Springsteen CD: 2

Number of times attempted to get into The Illustrated Man audiobook: 4

Number of food purchases: 1**

Number of times hearing Pink's song "Pill": 2***

Number of times hearing that song "Complicated": 5****

Number of almost hourlong phone calls: 2*****

Total amount of tolls: $12.70

Total pieces of gum: 15

Total carrots: ~1.75lbs

Total bananas: 2

Total green grapes: ~.75lbs

Number of attempts to call in and ask the Dixie Chicks a question on this nationally televised radio show: 21******

Number of times I got a busy signal: 21

---------------------------------------

*To the new Justin Timberlake song; I think it's called "Limber". It was a good laugh. What a fun song. I love when he says "drums" in the middle.

**A McDonald's shake. And I was disappointed to learn that they are now making them all thick and creamy instead of the slightly-thicker-than-milk variety. I'm sure that pushed the fat/calorie total of it way up, and it wasn't even that good. So, McDonald's has screwed up the only thing they do right.

***I freaking love this song, even though the lyrics seem like they're written by a 14-year old.

****I used to like it. Not anymore.

*****And thank god.

******A little bit obsessive, eh? I wanted to ask them about Patty Griffin, who was covered on their last album ("Let Him Fly") and has two songs on this new album. I wanted to know how they hooked up, how they work together, and if they collaborate. Plus, I was really bored. The two hour show previewed the whole album, and it sounds really good. I may just have to buy it.