2001-12-25

About the Author, posted at 10:54 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Name: Withheld. You shall know me as "Epiphany".

Birthdate: August 1977. That makes me 25.

Sign: Leo

Stats: 5'10, 190 (the latter number is decreasing, though)

Home: Well, it's not too hard to figure out, but I don't want to just come out and tell you. Look around a bit.

Former home: Michigan

Alma mater: Michigan State University

Eyes: blue and very near-sighted

Interesting appearance fact: Recently hit the 100-lb weight loss.

Interesting diet fact: vegetarian for six years for both ethical (I think the meat industry sucks, and that animals weren't put on the earth to be eaten by me) and personal (I worked in a butcher shop during highschool and it really grossed me out.)

Shampoo: Suave

States I've been to: Michigan, Ohio, Pennsylvania, New York, Massachussetts, Maryland, West Virginia, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina.

Places I've lived: South Haven, MI; Redford, MI; East Lansing, MI; Baltimore, MD.

Foreign countries I've been to: Canada. Sad, I know.

G.P.A. in high school: 4.07

G.P.A. in college: 3.0

Majors I had before deciding on the degree I obtained: Pre-Medicine Biology, Pre-Medicine Chemistry, Pre-Vet Biology

Degree: English, Secondary Education in 2000

Student teaching: At a big-city school with kids who were 40% Caucasian, 25% African-American, 20% Latino, 10% Asian, and 5% "other" with 96% of the students considered "at risk".

Current school: A well-renowned big city school with a population of 95% African-American and 5% "other."

Teaching: English 9, English 10

Car: 1993 Plymouth Acclaim

Favorite places to shop: Old Navy, Barnes & Noble, Soundgarden, Flat Black & Circular, Meijer, Trader Joe's

Favorite foods: almost any soy meat substitute product (fake bologna, fake hamburgers, fake hot dogs), clementine oranges, Mexican food, Indian food, Thai food (pad thai), carrots, celery.

Favorite albums: Epiphany in Brooklyn, Brenda Kahn; Living With Ghosts, Patty Griffin; Pinkerton, Weezer; Dan Bern, Dan Bern; Houses of the Holy Moly, Wally Pleasant; August and Everything After, Counting Crows; 99.9 F, Suzanne Vega; Tracy Chapman, Tracy Chapman; Everything I Need, Melissa Ferrick; The White Album, The Beatles; Rumours, Fleetwood Mac; Pearl, Janis Joplin; Mama's Gun, Erykah Badu; Six Ways From Sunday, 19 Wheels; Being There, Wilco; Suppose Former Infatuation Junkie, Alanis Morissette; Grace, Jeff Buckley; Unplugged in New York, Nirvana; Greatest Stories Live, Harry Chapin; I Do Not Want What I Haven't Got, Sinead O'Connor; El Corazon, Steve Earle; Grave Dancer's Union, Soul Asylum; The Verve Songbook, Ella Fitzgerald.

Favorite color: blue

Favorite books: The Color Purple by Alice Walker; Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston; Independence Day by Richard Ford; To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee; Soft Maniacs by Maggie Estep; The Corrections by Jonathon Franzen; The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger; The White Boy Shuffle by Paul Beatty; Ariel by Sylvia Plath.

Favorite films: Magnolia, Good Will Hunting, The Wizard of Oz, Babe, The Shawshank Redemption, Death and the Maiden, Dead Again, What's Eating Gilbert Grape?, Contact, Ocean's 11, Vanilla Sky, The Royal Tenenbaums, Slam, You Can Count on Me, Best of Show, Almost Famous, Hamlet.

Workout: Weights and Cardio five times a week.

Other interests: pingpong, baseball,

Weird fact #1: I've had a letter published in TV Guide

Weird fact #2: I am an excellent pingpong player.

Favorite Sport: Baseball

Politically: If very conservative were a 1 and very liberal were a 10, I'd be about a nine. I'm pretty much a straight swish on the liberal side on social issues: I'm pro-choice, anti-death penalty, anti-gun, etc. I voted for Gore.

Miscellaneous: Currently in at least two major transitions in my life, from college life to adult life and from the midwest to the east coast. Graduated from large Big Ten school where I was in the Department of Residence Life for four years as an RA and Asst. Hall Director. Moved to the east coast for a change... to find my path in life. Things are progressing. The weight loss has given me the confidence I didn't have before, and I've tentatively entered the dating scene. My job is stressful as hell, but fairly enjoyable about half of my days and getting better all the time. I'm generally a happy person, although (to quote U2) I still haven't found what I'm looking for.