2001-12-25

Merry Christmas, posted at 10:26 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Today was a good day. I enjoy Christmas.

The highlights:

My gifts seemed to go over well. I got the wrong size sweater for my sister and the wrong size sheets for my parents, but kept the receipts for both. My grandparents loved their gifts - grandpa seemed to especially love his Worst Case Scenario book I got him. Heidi seems excited about the weights set I got her; she had asked for fitness-oriented gifts. I was more eager to see reactions to my presents than to get mine.

That being said, I do love getting gifts, too. I got a lot of things I asked for - a blender (my old one was crapping out trying to chop ice while making my soy shakes), a few books, some pants and a belt that fit my new waistline, a nice shirt, a barnes & noble gift certificate. I also got some unique gifts that were good ideas. I'm especially enjoying this bead necklace that my sister got me. Apparently, her boss - a cool jock guy I played baseball with who was always nice to me in high school, as we graduated from the same class - wears one all the time, and she got one for me. It does look nice.

I also got about seven pairs of boxers, which is odd because I hate boxers. I will wear them as underwear only after the thirty or so pairs of underwear I have are out. Occasionally I'll wear them to bed. But I just can't handle the looseness of them - they provide far too much freedom for me. What I had asked for were boxer briefs - a big difference. (They're very comfortable, and look much better than regular briefs. I have about four pairs, and want to switch my whole collection over eventually. Oh my gosh, I think I just admitted on the Internet that I actually asked for underwear for Christmas? Gads.) Anyhow, My family didn't know what boxer briefs were, apparently. We laughed about it. They saved a few receipts.

I also got Madonna's Greatest Hits Vol. 2, which I had bought for myself used at Music Express in Kalamazoo for something like $7 used about a month ago. It's an alright CD, although I think much of Madonna's early nineties stuff is pretty mediocre. She's only regained a creative rebirth since the release of the fabulous Ray of Light, which I own. I'm glad to finally have "Music" on CD - I've been nonplussed by the subsequent singles from the album and didn't buy it, but that song "Music" is definitely one of her best songs ever. In fact, I'd put the title tracks of both "Ray of Light" and "Music" as two of the best Madonna songs ever.

Top Ten Madonna songs of all time: 1) Live to Tell. 2) Ray of Light. 3) Crazy for You. 4) Music. 5) Justify My Love. 6) Like a Prayer. 7) Vogue. 8) Holiday. 9) I'll Remember. 10) Borderline.

This entry has devolved from an essay reflecting on a joyous Christmas to a Madonna top-ten list. It's time to bring it to an end. Merry Christmas, everybody.