Friday, Dec. 03, 2004

Monument Lighting, posted at 12:31 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

The lighting of the monument was as great as I remember. The fact that it happened on the day the staff at the restaurant gets together to decorate the place made it even better. Yup, I'm officially in the holiday spirit.

The monument lighting was excellent. I met up with good friends at Midtown Yacht Club. The one bummer was my friend M... Well, I found out that she's been dating this guy for a while. I've been into her for a while, but never made a move. Now I'm regretting it. She looked especially hot tonight. Oh well.

I have one really good picture of the lighting and the fireworks, I think, which I would post if I didn't leave my camera in my car tonight. I'll post it tomorrow or something.

Afterwards, it was off to the restaurant for the tree-trimming party. That's basically an excuse to get all the employees to help decorate the restaurant for the holidays. To entice us, they give us free wine. At this point, there are just three (!) servers working at the restaurant, and two baristas, me being one of the servers. We've all been there over a year (I'm now at 16 months) and are pretty close. We spent a few hours decorating the restaurant and drinking wine. A lot of it. I went from syrah to pinot grigio to cabernet to pinot noir. It was a nice night, full of great friends and good times. I cut out early because I have to teach the youth of America tomorrow.

I actually don't really have to teach tomorrow. I'm driving three seniors to a baseball coaching conference in Rockville. It should be interesting. Last year, coaches brought a few players to it. It didn't seem a big deal. This year, I decided to do it. None of the three of them have paid for it. They're going to stand out more than the other players who sneak in will, though, because they're all black. I won't be able to pass them off as my sons, as I think the coaches did last year. We'll see what happens. I'm excited, either way. It'll be a cool bonding experience with the kids who will be my captains this year, and I hope to increase the knowledge base of my baseball team. My primary goal is that this helps make my team better. My secondary goal is that these kids eventually come back to Baltimore City to coach baseball. By the way, Cecil Espy will be there. Let me know if you want an autograph.

I'm exhausted and have been going non-stop for a few days in a row now. Aaargh. Life is what happens as I make other plans, I guess.