Friday, Dec. 03, 2004

13 epiphanies, posted at 10:24 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

This week is finally over. It was a good one, full of good friends and good times, but it was a trying one. I feel like I've been only home to sleep, and I'm so tired that I'm having a hard time focusing on the computer screen. Needless to say, I didn't decide to go and see Juliana Hatfield tonight at Fletcher's, the third time in a row I've missed her there. It's not laziness, either. It's for pure health.

A few epiphanies came to light this week:

1. I'm pretty much married to my job and I'm unsure how to break free enough to allow other things in.

2. I make too many commitments for myself and stress myself out unnecessarily.

3. I have a tremendous group of friends that I do not spend enough time with.

4. I have to quit the restaurant on March 1.

5. I have no idea how I'm going to live when I have all this - teaching two new preps to 170 students, working 3-4 shifts a week at the restaurant, having house concerts, writing letters to major league baseball teams asking for donations - plus grad school in the spring. By the way, I was accepted into Towson. They're taking 18 of my 24 credits from Michigan State.

6. I'm a very poor pet owner, or at least I have been this week.

7. I cannot continue to let things like late concerts and late shifts affect my workout schedule.

8. I need to get more sleep. I don't know how, but I need to prioritize it.

9. I need to stop spending so much money.

10. I need to start a running program.

11. I need to figure out my CD burner and make a mixed Christmas song CD.

12. I need to drink more water and eat less cereal.

13. I'm so freaking excited about baseball season that I think I'm going to begin unorganized practices before the holidays. I wish I knew as much in my head as the guys who did this seminar today know in their little finger. And I'm thinking about the team in the long range. Like, so-and-so is going to be a great pitcher when he's a senior or so-and-so will be a good cleanup hitter in a couple of years. I want to build this program here so it's the best in the city.