Thursday, Dec. 02, 2004

Just back from the show, posted at 12:13 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Just got back from the Melissa Ferrick concert. A good show, as usual. I'm kicking myself because there was a line from one of her songs that really grabbed me, and I repeated it over and over again in my head, but now I can't remember. Something about needing to slow down to allow others in. It fit me right now.

I invited three friends to the show from the restaurant. I found myself worrying a lot if they were enjoying themselves. Because I think she's awesome and deserves more and more fans, I always am attempted to invite more people to her shows. I think it detracts a bit from the inhibition and joy I feel when listening to her, though. Maybe I should limit myself to one new fan.

Alas, she did not play "The Juliana Hatfield Song", which I requested via e-mail to her the day before the show. I doubt if she even received the e-mail. I've seen her now over a dozen times and that's the one song I haven't heard that I've always wanted to. It's also the first song I ever heard of hers, on Impact 89FM in 1996.

I hope to go see Juliana Hatfield on Friday night at Fletcher's. I might be going alone. I know no other fans. I hope I don't get too lazy. I'm going to this on Friday, the Mid-Atlantic Baseball Coaching Clinic, so I won't be teaching and I should have no excuse.

Tomorrow should be a fun day. This is the e-mail I sent out to my friends:

Dear friends,

One of my favorite events in Baltimore is the annual lighting of the monument ceremony in Mt. Vernon. The first year I was in this city, I was feeling like a stranger in a strange land for the first several months. The event - an amazing night of community celebration - marked the first time when I really felt like I was part of the city, and I finally felt one with Baltimore. That was three years ago. Two years ago, the second lighting of the monument ceremony occurred on a Friday night because of snow day. We - Kristin, Michelle, Rob, Sally, Jane, Joe, Bill, Sarah Z, Charity, Ryan, Patty, and one guy I don't recognize in the picture - started off with two beers and a shot in an hour at Sascha's before the ceremony. The ceremony was nice as usual, but afterwards the evening devolved into a game of "Risdonia" at Midtown Yacht Club, and eventually into my, um, requested removal from the Spy Club very late in the evening. Despite all this (because of?), tt was a great night. I have pictures.

Last year, I was in a hazy, blurry fog in between two shitty eye surgeries, and I probably had to work at (the restaurant where I work), and I didn't go. I kick myself for it, because I think last year would have gone better if I had gone. But, like all things last year, I have amnesia and the only thing I really remember from 2003 was my trip to Italy. Otherwise, I skipped right from 2002 on into 2004.

And 2004 has been a great year, so far, and I wanted to invite my friends out for an evening of holiday and community celebration at the lighting of the monument. I'll be starting at around 4:30 at the Midtown Yacht Club on Centre Street for dinner and drinks, then heading over to the ceremony at around 6. My neighbor, Mr. Martin O'Malley, is speaking, and (there's a bunch of other stuff). Afterwards, I want to invite you all to (my restaurant), where we're having our annual tree trimming party. You can stop in for wine and dessert, and can even help with the trimming if you're so inclined. Last year, Yvonne (the owner) gave us and our guests free wine and drinks, but there's no guarantee that will happen this year. But it's a fun time, nonetheless. I'll probably head over there at around 8 or so.

More info:
Lighting of the Monument Ceremony info: http://www.promotionandarts.com/resources/up194.aspx
Midtown Yacht Club info: http://www.promotionandarts.com/resources/up194.aspx
(My restaurant): http://www.digitalcity.com/baltimore/entertainment/venue.adp?vid=23064

Also, I'm seeing Melissa Ferrick (www.melissaferrick.com) on Wed, Dec. 1 if anyone is interested in seeing the best live performer I've ever seen. She's at The Funk Box and the show is $18. Stephen Kellogg, also very good (www.stephenkellogg.com), is opening.

Let me know if you'll be joining me for either. Hope you're all well and Thanksgiving celebrations were enjoyable.

Even though this week is jam-packed, it's been a good one. I've got to get some sleep, though.