Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005

Moving to Blogspot, posted at 11:43 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

http://epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com/

After a week away from online journaling, I've decided to pack up and move from Diaryland. I haven't heard from Andrew - the guy who started Diaryland - and just don't feel like they're ever going to get an RSS feed. If they do, maybe I'll return. But I doubt it. It's sort of a bummer, since over five years of my life is over there at epiphany.diaryland.com, but it's probably time to move beyond the lavendar walls and teenage girl font of diaryland and into something a little more adult. Losing the 300 hits a day I get from diaryland will suck, but maybe I can figure out a way to bring them over here. Or maybe I don't really care all that much.

So I've decided to come over to Blogger, to this new site, here. I have set up a Livejournal account, but that place seems less user-friendly and all the icons and buddy lists frighten me. I gravitated to Livejournal first because I've always been stubborn about not calling this a blog, but a journal. The word wasn't part of our common lexicon when I started my online journal, and somehow I always felt like my thing over there was more of a journal than a blog - brevity has never been a strongsuit of mine, and I think I get more personal than most blogs. But, let's face it, it's a blog.

I also thought about Baltiblogs, but I can't even figure out how to get my password e-mailed to me. I really need things as idiot-proof as possible for me to be successful.

I'll miss certain things about diaryland, but most of the journals I read have also moved elsewhere - Yelnad is at her personal site, Barani is posting postly at his myspace site now, etc. I'll be back for a few - online journal writing doesn't get much better than Non-descript or Widower. But it's probably time I leave. Hopefully, a certain someone reading in Detroit will stop calling this my diary now that diaryland is in the past. It's a journal, Gale, a journal. At least afford me that bit of masculinity.