Tuesday, Jun. 14, 2005

Tale of two evenings, posted at 7:46 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I'm going to update concurrently here for a week or so, to get people used to the idea that I'm now at Epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com. Please update your links and stuff.

Last night, I went for a run around my neighborhood. A friendly, well-trained dog followed me home, and I tried to lose her, but I couldn't. I decided to keep her overnight, and try to find her owners the next day, but she and Holden snarled a bit too much at each other, so I tried to find her home last night. When I brought her back to her street, she trotted to a backyard that she seemed to know. I turned right around and sprinted as fast as I could back home, attempting to lose her. She was a nice dog, and took a liking to me, but the house is clearly a one dog house and she seemed to know where she was going once I got back on her block. I ran as fast as I could, thinking that this could be my "speed work" after my run. However, as I was sprinting, a sidewalk lurched in front of me and I tripped - badly - taking a dive across a few feet of pavement. I'm skinned across my hands, elbows, and knees, and am pretty sore. My wounds dripped blood for a few hours last night, and the night of sleep last night was intermittent and painful.

Tonight, though, I followed up a great post-school workout with our first softball game of the season. The game was perfect - just the right amount of people, a clear victory from the first inning - and felt good all around. Afterwards, I had an enjoyable evening sitting outside and drinking $1 Miller Lites at Kiss Cafe and Outhouse Steakback. I got along with the waitresses at the latter pretty well. They were calling me "Marky Mark" by the third round (not that this name has anything to do with my actual name. That's outlandish) and I have to believe it's because they wanted me and not because I tipped them 100% every time I went up there.

Anyhow, I had one of my best nights in a while, a totally chill evening spent with friends I don't see often enough. Life is good, school is almost out, and we won our softball game.