Saturday, Apr. 23, 2005

Feisty, posted at 9:43 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

In keeping with my feistiness from the games on Thursday night (next time, I'm kicking dirt at the umps), I found myself refusing to take my hat off in a shitty restaurant yesterday.

My game was rained out, so I attended our English department's book club meeting about The Tempest. I didn't read it, but I wanted comraderie, and it's never really a requirement to read the book for the Book Club. Even if I had known my game was going to be cancelled, I probably wouldn't have read it; reading Shakespeare at home by myself is not my idea of fun. I like doing it with the kids (yesterday's opening of Romeo and Juliet was one of my funnest days of the year with them), but can't imagine sitting down and reading it. Plus, I already think we teach enough Shakespeare at our school - one per year. This guy's argument was that if we teach four plays by the same author, they shouldn't all be tragedies. A decent argument, but I don't know what out of R&J, Julius Caesar, Macbeth, and Hamlet you remove in favor of freaking The Tempest (I've never actually read it, but I have very bad feelings about it because I was supposed to read it in college and didn't because it was too hard or I was too lazy that year or both, but I had to watch the film Prospero's Books which I hated because it was way too full of itself and deliberately weird and artsy. Plus, there was a 90-year old naked John Geilgud in it.)

Anyhow, we're at Captain James, which might be the worst restaurant in all of Baltimore. I'd been there three years before, and was sufficiently put off by the stuffy atmosphere and crowded tables. Plus, the waiters all wear sailor uniforms. And, I had gone in twice yesterday afternoon before others arrived and no one noticed me or said hi. So I was in a bad mood to begin with. Then, the guy came over and asked me to remove my hat, asked if I minded. I said, "Yes, actually I do mind" and he said it was restaurant policy. I didn't respond, then just didn't take off my hat. Mind you, this is a shitty restaurant, and no one is in there except for us and two women off in the back. I sat there for another ten minutes, waiting for Castaway's, across the street, to open.

Then I got up and left, without ever taking off my ballcap. I would have had hat hair! I thought I was going to be coaching!

A co-worker commented that he'd never seen me so feisty. I'm apparently on a rampage, people.

Today is a day of lots of laundry. I really enjoy spending $20-$30 at the laundromat once a month. It's really a good way to spend a day and to spend my hard-earned money. Yee-haw.