Thursday, Apr. 21, 2005

Screaming at umps, posted at 9:59 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

I am generally a very mild mannered guy. I'm somewhat shy, even quiet, and I'm definitely laid back. I don't let much get to me, or at least I don't show it.

Not today, though.

I did my best Lou Piniella impression this afternoon as we lost both ends of a doubleheader to a chief rival. It started with a play at second base in which my player very clearly slid into second base and was never tagged by the opposing team's second baseman. It was so clear that after he slid in, I had turned to look at the play at home and congratulate the guy who had scored. Then I looked over and saw that he had been called out. I sprinted out to second base, screaming that he had not been tagged, yelling to Mr. Blue (my name for umpires) that he had missed the tag. I yelled and yelled for a while, and thought about picking up the base and throwing it, but I stopped myself. Then, the guy has the nerve to come up to me after the inning and say, "I'm not going to discuss the call with you, but I wanted to let you know the appeal procedure is that you ask me for an appeal, and then I decide whether you get one." I was again livid, since I had appealed to him over and over again. I again started shouting at the guy, then repeated that that was the worst call I've ever seen, that he wasn't in position to see the play and he should be ashamed that his call is making or breaking this game. He said he was not going to discuss the call.

Then, I heard him talking to my player who had slid in under the tage and had been called out. He told him that the tag had gotten him on the leg. I overheard it as I was on the way back to the bench area. Well, I turned around, sprinted back at him, and screamed, "WHAT? YOU'RE NOT GOING TO TALK ABOUT THE CALL TO ME BUT YOU'RE GOING TO BRING IT UP AGAIN TO MY PLAYER? DON'T TALK TO MY PLAYER ABOUT THE CALL THAT YOU MISSED! TALK TO ME!" You see, I didn't want my player to get tossed, but I had not problem with it at that point. I kept yelling and yelling and finally walked off the field.

Later, one of the players on the other team intentionally bumped my first baseman after he had been called out on a close play. He should have been ejected, but the umpire didn't see it. I ran out there and made a big fuss. When the ump said he didn't see it, I said, "Well, you should do your job then!" and stormed off without listening to his rebuttal.

My kids enjoyed my display, and I think I'll go all out more next time. I need to light a fire under this team right now after losing three of four.

I was one pissed off coach today, that's for sure. I don't think I've ever been so angry during a baseball game at officiating, and I let them know it.

There's definitely something healthy about screaming for hours on a baseball field. I feel pretty relaxed now. And even though we lost both games, the guys fought hard. I told them they played fucking terribly after the first game and they played pretty good in the second game, at least after the 8-run first (which was more a result of a sore-armed pitcher than poor defense). I even heard a hint of optimism in my post-game speech: "We outscored them 4-2 in innings two through five."

I made it home at 8:30 tonight, and now must plan a brilliant Act I, Scene 1 activity for Romeo and Juliet. Looks like that thought of getting to bed early will not come to fruition.

We have another game tomorrow night, and now stand at 4-4 for our record.