Saturday, Apr. 23, 2005

Saturday errand day, posted at 5:36 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It's been a pretty stellar day. It started with getting some things in order in my house for the big trip to the laundromat today. That involves finding all the dirty laundry I have deposited in all my laundry deposit spots in the house. I have more than one because one of them fills up and then I have to find a spot for the next. Plus, I tend to just dump clothes a lot.

After getting all my laundry together, I went filled up my car. This was also a job and a half; it was four laundry baskets full. Then, I went to the gym. I've been going so infrequently lately - and eating so terribly - that I wonder if other people have begun to notice my weight gain. My pants haven't noticed, yet, but I'm sure they will soon. I feel unhealthy and my lack of attention in my appearance lately has reflected this. With baseball practice every day until late, I'm having a hard time making it to the gym. The couple of mornings I've made it up in time, my eyes have been so bad that I couldn't go. So, since Easter, my workouts have been spotty, if at all. I didn't make it all week this week.

However, I had a tremendous workout today, especially by recent standards. I ran for 25 minutes, which was almost two and a half miles. Because my eyes are still stingingly red and the new contacts have not come in yet, I went in my glasses. I can't run in my glasses, so I took them off, and was running while legally blind. I couldn't see the numbers on the board in front of me, and couldn't glance at the TV hitched over my head, and so it was me and the panting of my breath, the clopping of my feet, and the wrirring of the machine - very effective. After 25 minutes, before ennui took over, I went on the elliptical machine, reading the newspaper and getting 15 more minutes of cardio. I then lifted weights for a bit and headed next door to Trader Joe's for the first time in a week, where I loaded up on healthier stuff than I have been eating in a while.

I came home, took a nap, and now contemplate what I'll be doing the rest of the night. I need to wash the laundry that is in my car, so I'll probably head to do that. I also need to find my cell phone, which I fear I left at school this weekend. Otherwise, the night is open. Life is pretty good.