Saturday, Apr. 16, 2005

Fire, posted at 11:49 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It was a good night tonight, a great night even. I ended up here at a fundraiser. For $25, I got to drink and eat all I wanted. I also got to sit around a campfire, listen to and sing along to great songs, and look at the stars. It's nights like these that remind me what a great place I am in my life right now, how all I'm missing is someone to put my arm around at a campfire. My life is really good at this moment, just missing one part that I just can't seem to find. I went with folks I work with, and I really wanted to put my arm around the girl whose classroom is down at the end of the hall, even though she has little in common with me and I have no desire to screw with our friendship. It just seemed like it would be right. I restrained myself, and was just left thinking about it, as I listened to this guy's songs. You've got to love a singer/songwriter who namechecks Dizzy Izzie's in one of their songs.

The place was about thirty minutes north of the city, which gave me sufficient distance and relaxation from the bustle of my life right now. I work tomorrow, so it was needed. The separation and time with colleagues does me well; in conversations, I hear the same things that I'm struggling with right now - how long to stay in this city with this city with the way english teachers are treated at our school, how to figure out how to buy a house. The grad program at Towson means I'm probably here for the next couple of years. I need to buy a house, so I need to get off my ass about getting a mortgage, which is the only thing holding me back. At this point, it's only the fact that I only stop to think about this stuff in the wee hours of night that holds me back. If a mortgage company were open right now, I'd call them. Unfortunately, I'm working from 7am until 8pm every day, so my hours are not aligning with mortgage companies at this moment.

Tomorrow is a shift at the restaurant and hopefully an opportunity to hole myself up somewhere and finish all my grading for 3rd quarter so I don't get in trouble on Monday.