Monday, Feb. 28, 2005

Oscars, boring, posted at 12:20 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Well, the Oscars were pretty boring. Chris Rock? You forgot he hosted it after the monologue. The winners? Predictable, and mostly disappointing. Why do I even like these shows? I don't really know. I really only watch the big three awards shows - the Grammies, the Oscars, and the Emmies. I haven't watched the Emmies in years, though, because I really don't watch TV anymore. So it's just the first two. At least the Grammies have performances that are great. The Oscars? Well, not much. But I love movies, including and especially "serious" movies, and spend much of the year reading columns like this one that forecast the Oscars. Then, ever critic I read is just as disappointed with them as I am once they're happening and once they're over.

Oh well. It's not like I waste too much time on it. It's a mild diversion. And it's something to talk about with folks.

Anyhow, none of my "hopes" came true, and I was left with feeling that this was the worst Oscar telecast in recent memory. Major missteps include Beyonce singing three songs to Yo Yo Ma playing distracting music over the "People who Died" montage.

Million Dollar Baby is probably the most mediocre movie to win Best Picture in decades. The movie was a big cliche, silly and predictable until the ending, which was maudlin and not that interesting. It's unbelievable that it won Best Picture, and Eastwood winning Best Director over Scorsese is criminal.

Jamie Foxx's win was a highlight of the night. It's good to see Morgan Freeman win, as well. Would have liked to have seen Sophie Okendedo and Kate Winslet pull of Oscars in their categories, but both were in very strong categories.

Oh well. The party was a lot of fun. We all had to bring a pizza ingredient, and Sarah had made crusts for us to make our pizzas with. And, we all came dressed as an Oscar nominee or someone else Oscar related. I did the broken nose guy from Sideways, complete a nose bandage, with a garish button down shirt with the top buttons undone and very, very cheap Californian wine. Other attendees included Billy Marray and Scarlett Johanssen, Joan Rivers, Harry Potter, and Johnny Depp as Hunter S. Thompson. Good times.

I'm so tired. I'm pretending I'm not stressed about cutting 27 kids in three days when I can't use the baseball field because of snow. Does anyone in Baltimore know of a great indoor facility somewhere I can use to play some baseball? Anyone know Cal Ripken?

More snow on the way right now. Folks at the party are predicting just under even odds for a snow day tomorrow.