Sunday, Feb. 27, 2005

Thomas Haden Church or MIchael Moore?, posted at 9:14 a.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

Had a great night last night, ending up at Porter's and then Hull Street Blues. I got a bit drunk, but the night only cost me $25 because of pre-drinking, and that includes having half a pound of Old Bay steamed shrimp at Porter's, one of my favorite bars, where I haven't been in months.

My old friend Neil is doing well, and it's always good to see Neil.

So, tonight for this Oscars party I'm going to at a colleague's place, the assignment is to dress Oscar-themed. That means as a nominee, a character, or something else Oscars-related.

My two ideas are as follows:

1. Buy a big bandage for my nose and go as the Thomas Haden Church character in Sideways. I share no other similarities to the tall lanky actor, but the simple prop would be easy and, perhaps, effective.

2. Break out a MSU hat and keep the scruff I have going (not quite anough) and go as Michael Moore, enraged about his lack of a nomination. I'm happy to say, though, that I might need some padding to pull that off.

I can't decide. We'll see.

A Sunday brunch awaits me... I will be late already.