Saturday, Jan. 29, 2005

House Concert = success, posted at 4:18 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

The concert went great - well attended (25 or so), with many first timers. It was also really cool to speak with Patti about her brushes with fame, her appearances on Leno and Letterman, and which singer/songwriters are jerks in real life. (Tracy Bonham, I will never book you.)

Her performance was great. I'll probably post pictures soon, or maybe Fool's Fate will (she had a better angle than I did, so I'll be trying to get some pics from her for the site.) But, suffice to say, they had a more complex setup than I've ever hosted before, with a huge speaker and a soundboard in my small living room. Still, the sound was not overwhelming or too loud; thankfully, no police came to close down the place.

Patti and her accompanist (and manager, and boyfriend) seemed very happy with the show. They made good money, I think, and were kind and thankful throughout the night. Patti stayed for a couple hours after the show, talking all about the biz and telling me Brenda Kahn (my favorite singer) stories. Also, Patti says a major label is interested in her new album, so I might have caught her at a time right before she hits it big again. We'll see.

The crowd was great and I really enjoyed myself, drinking for the first time in a couple of weeks and feeling it right away. By the end of the night, I was exhausted and happy, and I (almost) couldn't ask for anything more.

Today has been a great day. I woke up, had a bowl of cereal, and then went back to bed for an hour. I then woke up, had a great 90-minute workout at Bally's and a short excurstion to Target, and now I'm back and getting ready to work. I hope I make some money tonight.

Lastly, Jerry Hairston has been one of my favorite Orioles (after Melvin Mora) for a couple of years now. That being said, it's going to be fun to see Sammy Sosa play. You don't get much better than Mora/Lopez/Tejada/Sosa as the 2-3-4-5 hitters. Unfortunately, the O's still have the carcass of Rafael Palmeiro stinking up the DH spot; their prospective 1B, Jay Gibbons, is well below par for his position; Brian Roberts simply isn't a very good player (OPS of just .720 last year, and it was a career year); Luis Matos isn't very good. That's four position players who are below average out of nine, and the offense is the strength of the team. The O's haven't impressed me very much this off-season, but at least this is something. And it strengtens the Tigers' chances of getting Magglio Ordonez, so I'm all for it.