Friday, Jan. 28, 2005

Tonight's the night, posted at 5:03 p.m.

Epiphany in Baltimore has moved to epiphanyinbaltimore.blogspot.com

It annoys me to no end that I have to go to Safeway and can't get beer there. I have to go to the scuzzy liquor store across the street. Who makes up these laws? What does this possibly accomplish or prevent?

House concert in two and a half hours. I have at least two hours worth of cleaning to do, after staying up until 1:30 am cleaning and grading last night. I don't know why I do this to myself every time, but I do.

I hope more than 11 people show up. I really, really do.

This was the desperation e-mail I sent out to a bunch of my friends shortly before 1am last night:

Just a reminder to my friends...

There's a Holden's Lair house concert tonight (Friday). What better way is there to spend a chilly Friday night than with good friends and good music?

Patti Rothberg is probably my biggest performer yet; she had a major label contract in the mid-to-late nineties, as well as a hit single ("Inside") that she performed on both Leno and Letterman before her record label folded in the late nineties, pushing her from near-stardom to independent recording artist. But her gritty rock will probably be quite a change from standard HoldenZZZZZ's Lair fare. Just look at the artists that she's toured with - The Black Crowes, Aimee Mann, Chris Isaak - to see her eclectic blend of folk, rock, and blues. She's really good; her CD has been one of my favorites for almost a decade now, ever since I heard her stuff all over the radio when she had the hit singles in 1996-1997.

Doors open at 7:30, and we'll get started at around 8:30. If we know you're coming, we'll wait before we start. Please come early if you can.

So far, I have the following people coming:

1. Alan
2. Betsy + 2
5. Mike + 1
7. Kris
8. Michelle
9. Rob
10. Cathy
11. Rose

I think a few more might come, but I haven't heard for sure. In other words, not a huge crowd for such a big artist coming from NYC just for this one show. So, spread the word, bring friends, and show up tonight if you can. I'd love to see you all!

Babies and kids welcome.

Now, back to cleaning and grading.

Yes, I'm worried. Yes, I'm always worried about shows.